Stephen Gates IV

Stephen GATES IV (1690 – 1782) was Alex’s 8th Grandfather; one of 512 in this generation of the Shaw line.

Stephen Gates IV was born about 1690 in Stow, Mass. His parents were Stephen GATES III and Jemima BENJAMIN. He married Hannah WOODWARD on 6 Nov 1713 in Preston, CT.   Two of their sons, Azariah and Phineas died of Yellow Fever in Cuba after the Battle of Havana in 1762. After Hannah died, he married Mercy Luce about 1763.  Stephen died 14 Mar 1782 in Preston, CT.

Gates Cemetery – In 1742 this Stephen Gates deeded an acre of land beside the Pachogue River to the town of Preston to be used as a burial place. Henry Palmer Gates of Johnstown, NY visited the place c. 1913 and made a list of the the stones that were visible. (His list does not include Stephen (1690-1782), who donated the land.) Some stones are visible in this photo, and in the background is the river and a bridge for Edmond Road. This is not too different from a photo made around 1910. And, a hundred years later, in 2010, a satellite image from Google shows the river, the bridge, and what might be some of these same buildings on the other side of the river. Google places the location at 41 deg., 36.557 min. N, and 71 deg., 56.332 min. W (On Edmond Road, upstream from a dam, and not far from Interstate 395). Neither the satellite imagery nor the topo map have a symbol indicating the presence of a cemetery.

Here is a Google Map Satellite View of these coordinates In 1898 the land was in the town of Griswold at Hopeville.   In 1898 there were 250 graves , 41 with inscriptions. It’s now called Hopeville Pond a mile or two east of Jewett City

At edge of river, across road from Gates Cemetery, Hopeville, CT This is how the scene looked in 2011. The river and buildings were not visible from the cemetery itself because a row of trees had grown up along the road, blocking the view. However the landscape remains essentially the same. Interesting to compare it with earlier photos.

Hannah Woodward was born on 7 May 1691 in Medford, Mass. Her parents were Daniel WOODWARD and Elizabeth DANA.  Hannah died 21 Oct 1762 in Preston, CT.

Mercy Luce was born in 1720.  She was the widow of Ephraim Withey or MacWithey.  Mercy died 14 May 1796.

Children of Stephen and Hannah:

Name Born Married Departed
1. Hannah GATES 14 Oct 1713 in Preston City, New London, CT Oliver PERKINS Sr.
10 Jan 1733/34 in the  2nd Church in Preston (now Griswold, CT)
21 Oct 1762 in West Greenwich, Kent, Rhode Island.
2. Thankful Gates 16 Apr 1716
Preston
Bef 1729
3.. Stephen Gates 13 Jan 1717/18 Preston, CT Hannah Meech
11 Apr 1743
11 Dec 1787 Halifax, VT
4. Joseph Gates 20 Dec 1720 Preston, CT. Bef. 1727
5. Nehemiah Gates 17 Mar 1722/23 Preston, CT Elizabeth Baker
14 Dec 1743
.
Sarah [__?__]
.
Mary Partridge
(Widow of Zephaniah Woodward)
1 Dec 1763
30 Apr 1790
New London, CT
6. Azariah Gates bapt.
10 Mar 1725 Preston, CT
Mary Jones
22 Mar 1748/49
14 Oct 1762
Died of Yellow Fever in Cuba after the Battle of Havana
7. Capt. Joseph Gates 16 Apr 1727 Preston, CT Abigail Baker
7 Dec 1749
.
Mabel Partridge
18 Sep 1757 Preston, New London, CT
.
Dorothy Seaton (Widow of Jesse Seaton)
28 Mar 1775
10 Sep 1795
Preston, New London, CT
8 Thankful Gates bapt.
4 Apr 1729 Preston, CT
Nathaniel Clark
30 Apr 1751 Canterbury, CT
16 May 1768 Canterbury, CT
9. Phineas Gates c.  1731 Preston, CT Esther Herrick
16 Jun 1758
30 Nov1762
Died of Yellow Fever in Cuba after the Battle of Havana
10. Susanna Gates bapt.
13 Sep 1734 Preston, CT
Probably unmarried

Stephen Gates’ land is now underwater in Hopeville Pond State Park, in  Griswold, Connecticut.  From the park’s website:

Hopeville Pond State Park, Griswold, CT

The Pachaug River was a major fishing ground for the Mohegan Indians. At low water the stone weirs, constructed by the Indians at angles from the river banks, are still visible. These weirs directed water flow as well as eels, shad, and other fish toward the center of the stream where the Indians placed baskets to trap them. Until blocked up by a dam, constructed in 1828 at Greenville, shad passed up the Quinebaug River in great numbers.

In pioneer times, a gristmill and sawmill were among the first requisites of a community. In 1711, surveyor Stephen GATES was granted fourteen acres of land within the limits of the present state park for the purpose of constructing mills. He erected a sawmill and cornmill at the natural falls (now underwater) on the Pachaug River for the convenience of the inhabitants. In 1818, Elizah Abel purchased this mill privilege and erected a woolen mill at the site. John Slater later purchased the woolen mill, sawmill, and gristmill; he then built a satinet mill faced with local granite. He named his new mill the Hope Mill. The name Hopeville was derived from this and has remained to the present time. In 1860, the village of Hopeville reached its zenith with the tremendous demands for woolens. At this time, it was owned by Edwin Lanthrop and Company and prospered until 1881 when the mill was destroyed by fire, never to be rebuilt. At the turn of the century, the church and four houses in the community burned. Furthermore, in 1908, the gristmill which had operated from 1711 until that time also went up in flames.

Stephen’s first wife owned the covenant in the First Church in Preston, 17 April 1715, and became a member 27 Sept. 1719. On 30 Nov. 1720 she was a member of the Second Church, probably by transfer from the First Church. According to the History of Griswold, Conn. (p.32) Stephen Gates was a member of the Baptist Church in Groton, Conn., in January 173

In his will, dated 21 June 1779, he mentioned his wife Mercy. The witnesses deposed 27 March 1782. He did not name his children. From the record of the distribution of his estate, 23 Jan. 1790, it appears that all of his children were then deceased except his sons Nehemiah and Joseph. Widow Mercy was mentioned; also heirs of Hannah Perkins, heirs of Thankful Clark, heirs of Phineas Gates, heirs of Stephen Gates, Jr., and heirs of Azariah Gates.When Stephen’s will was proved Jan. 23, 1790, all children were deceased except Joseph and Nehemiah, widow Mercy,and heirs of Hannah Perkins, Thankful Clark, Phineas Gates, Stephens Gates and Azariah Gates are mentioned. (Sons were killed in Indian Wars.)

Children

Two of Stephen’s sons died in October and November 1762.  A 19th Century genealogy said they died in the French and Indian War.  I was confused because that the French and Indian War ended that September.  Researching their unit and commanding officer and through Major General Phineas Lyman I discovered that they were casualties of the Battle of Havana.

Azariah Gates (1725 – 1762) was a solider in the Seven Years War, Battle of Havana from 25 Mar 1762 until 14 Oct 1762 when he died, probably of Yellow Fever in Cuba.   He was in the First Connecticut Regiment under Major General Phineas Lyman, Fifth Company under Captain John Stanton.   In 1762 Lyman was sent with 2,300 men to command the colonial contingent of Lord Albemarle’s army in the capture of Havana.

Phineas Gates (1731 – 1762) was a solider in the Seven Years War, Battle of Havana from 20 Mar 1762 until he was died 30 Nov 1762, like his brother probably of Yellow Fever in  Cuba.   He served with his brother Azariah in the First Connecticut Regiment under Major General Phineas Lyman, Fifth Company under Captain John Stanton.

The Battle of Havana (1762) was a military action from March to August 1762, as part of the Seven Years’ War. British forces besieged and captured the city of Havana, which at the time was an important Spanish naval base in the Caribbean, and dealt a serious blow to the Spanish navy. During the siege the British had lost 2,764 killed, wounded, captured or deserted, but by 18 October also had lost 4,708 dead from sickness. One of the most depleted brigade was transferred to North America where it lost a further 360 men within a month of his arrival.  Havana was subsequently returned to Spain under the 1763 Treaty of Paris that formally ended the war.  but Spain was required to cede Florida and Minorca to Great Britain and pay the Manila Ransom. Spain received French Louisiana as a payment for intervening in the war on the side of the French and as compensation for having lost Florida.

On 28 Jul 1762  1,400 militia from Connecticut arrived in time to aid in the defense of the batteries from the one Spanish sally.

I counted 43 dead and 27 survivors in Azariah and Phineas’s 5th Company, 1st Connecticut Regiment from the Rolls of Connecticut men in the French and Indian War, 1755-1762, Volume 2 By Connecticut Historical Society.   Extrapolating this 61% casualty rate to the entire regiment gives 860 deaths.  I couldn’t find the actual total from this little remembered conflict.  The Connecticut Colony’s total population was 142,000 in 1760.  A similar casualty rate if applied today’s United States would equal 1.8 million deaths.  This was a lot of carnage for a fight not much in the interest of the Connecticut settlers, though maybe the commander did benefit.  In 1763, Phineas Lyman went to England where he remained until 1772, endeavoring to obtain a grant of land in west Florida, a tract near Natchez (now Mississippi) being granted by royal charter in 1772. Lyman led a band of settlers to the region in 1773.

1. Hannah GATES (See Oliver PERKINS Sr.‘ page)

3. Stephen Gates

Stephen’s wife Hannah Meech was born  4 Mar 1724, probably in Preston, CT. Her parents were John Meech and Sarah Hutchins.

5. Nehemiah Gates

Nehemiah’s first wife Elizabeth Baker was born 1724 in Norwich, Connecticut.   Elizabeth died 14 Jun 1759 in Preston, New London, Connecticut.

Nehemiah’s second wife Sarah [__?__] died 8 APR 1763.

Nehemiah’s third wife Mary Partridge was born 3 Aug 1727 in Preston, New London, Connecticut. Her parents were Samuel Partridge and Deborah Rose.  She first married 27 Jan 1748 in Preston, New London, Connecticut to Zephaniah Woodward (20 Jul 1723 in Preston, CT – 17 Apr 1760 New London, CT).  Mary died 26 Jan 1810 in Preston, New London, Connecticut

Nehemiah Gates Headstone — Hopeville Cemetery Hopeville, New London County, Connecticut

Nehemiah was one of the Connecticut soliders who marched in Aug 1757 on the alarm for the relief of Fort William Henry.  He was in the 3rd Regiment Connecticut Militia (New London, Norwich, Lyme) under Col. Eliphalet Dyer, Seventh Company under Captain Ichabod Phelps.   In August, 1755, this regiment was raised in eastern Connecticut to assist in the proposed expedition against Crown Point. Eliphalet Dyer was appointed lieutenant colonel of this regiment. Each town of the county was ordered to furnish its proportion of men.

In the French and Indian War Dyer was a Lt. Colonel in the militia. He was a part of the expedition that captured Crown Point from the French in 1755. In 1758, as a Colonel, he led his regiment to Canada in support of Amherst’s and Wolfe’s operations.  I’m not sure if Nehemiah participated in these other operations.

The Siege of Fort William Henry was conducted in August 1757 by French General Louis-Joseph de Montcalm against the British-held Fort William Henry. The fort, located at the southern end of Lake George, on the frontier between the British Province of New York and the French Province of Canada, was garrisoned by a poorly supported force of British regulars and provincial militia led by Lieutenant Colonel George Monro. After several days of bombardment, Monro surrendezred to Montcalm, whose force included nearly 2,000 Indians from a large number of tribes. The terms of surrender included the withdrawal of the garrison to Fort Edward, with specific terms that the French military protect the British from the Indians as they withdrew from the area.

In one of the most notorious incidents of the French and Indian War, Montcalm’s Indian allies violated the agreed terms of surrender and attacked the British column, which had been deprived of ammunition, as it left the fort. They killed and scalped a significant number of soldiers, took as captives women, children, servants, and slaves, and slaughtered sick and wounded prisoners. Early accounts of the events called it a massacre, and implied that as many as 1,500 people were killed, even though it is unlikely more than 200 people (less than 10% of the British fighting strength) were actually killed in the massacre..

In 1762 Azariah and Phineas served in the 1st Connecticut Regiment 5th Company

6. Azariah Gates

Azariah’s wife Mary Jones was born  xx.

Azariah was a solider in the Seven Years War, Battle of Havana from 25 Mar 1762 until 14 Oct 1762 when he died, probably of Yellow Fever in Cuba.   He was in the First Connecticut Regiment under Major General Phineas Lyman, Fifth Company under Captain John Stanton.   In 1762 Lyman was sent with 2,300 men to command the colonial contingent of Lord Albemarle’s army in the capture of Havana.

1st Connecticut Regiment 5th Company 1762 – Over half the company perished primarily from Yellow Fevor including Azariah and Phineas

1st Connecticut Regiment 5th Company 1762 – I counted 43 dead and 27 survivors

The Battle of Havana (1762) was a military action from March to August 1762, as part of the Seven Years’ War. British forces besieged and captured the city of Havana, which at the time was an important Spanish naval base in the Caribbean, and dealt a serious blow to the Spanish navy. During the siege the British had lost 2,764 killed, wounded, captured or deserted, but by 18 October also had lost 4,708 dead from sickness. One of the most depleted brigade was transferred to North America where it lost a further 360 men within a month of his arrival.  Havana was subsequently returned to Spain under the 1763 Treaty of Paris that formally ended the war.  but Spain was required to cede Florida and Minorca to Great Britain and pay the Manila Ransom. Spain received French Louisiana as a payment for intervening in the war on the side of the French and as compensation for having lost Florida.

El Morro fortress in Havana, stormed by the British in July 1762

The Conn Brigade under General Phineas Lyman joined the British in the Carribean and by July 1762 were encamped outside of Havana.

The heat and humidity were a trial to the English. “Even in the commencement of the siege, the distresses to which the soldiers were exposed, were sufficient to damp the ardour of any but the bravest; their labours were excessive; and yet they only led to severer toils. Their roads of communication were to be cut through forests that were almost impenetrable; and their heavy artillery was to be dragged, for a vast way, over a rough and rocky shore. To many their exertions and sufferings were intolerable; the powerful co-operation of labour, thirst, and excessive heat, became insupportable; they sunk beneath a complicated burden, and expired amidst the violence of their fatigues” . In the wake of the ship-to-fort duel, the Spanish knocked out an artillery battery on the ridge: “The labour of 600 men for 17 days was destroyed in a few hours, and all was to be constructed anew” (p. 276). Albemarle’s men, however, were able to force their way across the moat on 20 July and begin mining the Morro’s walls.

On 28 Jul 1762  1,400 militia from Connecticut arrived in time to aid in the defense of the batteries from the one Spanish sally. Prado gathered together a rather motley collection of 1,200 militia and threw them against the English lines. Although the opening attack was a surprise, the English recovered quickly and beat back three charges. On the 30th the engineers mining the walls finally had their charges set and blew a breach in the Morro’s walls. Albemarle’s two brothers led the English charge and they made short work of the defenders. Luis de Velasco, commander of the Morro, died defending his flag.

7. Capt. Joseph Gates

Joseph’s first wife Abigail Baker was born about 1723.  Abigail  died before 18 Sep 1757.  The date for Abigail Baker’s death is not definite. Neither is the date of Joseph’s marriage to Mabel Partridge. This makes it difficult to determine which wife gave birth to Joseph’s early children.

Joseph’s second wife Mabel Partridge was born 16 May 1738 in Preston, New London, Connecticut. Her parents were Thomas Partridge and Sarah Treat. Mabel died 31 Oct 1774 in Preston, New London, Connecticut.

Joseph’s third wife Dorothy Gates was born 25 Mar 1742 in Preston, CT.   Her parents were Daniel Gates (1707 – 1767) and Mercy Heald (1711 – 1803).  She was the widow of Jesse Seaton.  Dorothy and Joseph were second cousins, having a common great-grandfather, Stephen Gates 1640-1707. Joseph descended from one of Stephen’s sons (Stephen), and Dorothy from another of Stephen’s sons (Thomas). Dorothy died 9 Feb 1805 in her 63rd year.

Homestead of Joseph Gates

In his book of Gates Family Records, Henry S. Gates Jr. describes his visits to the Gates cemetery in Hopeville, CT. and this location. His visit was about 30 years after this photo was taken (probably by his father). He writes: “The Gates homestead is about 1/2 mile south of the cemetery at a curve in the road, on the east side. The farmhouse was still standing in the 1960s when I visited and brought home a brick from the fireplace and a wooden peg that had been used in construction. In 2010, a satellite image of the area shows a curve in the road about a half mile south of the cemetery and some buildings in the area, but does not provide enough information to make any certain conclusions about the homestead site. Also, land along the east side of the road here appears to be part of a state park.

Dr Joseph Gates Headstone — Hopeville Cemetery Hopeville, New London, Connecticut

8. Thankful Gates

Thankful’s husband Nathaniel Clark was born 1729 in Preston, New London, Connecticut. His parents were Theopholus Clark and Martha [__?__].  After Thankful died, he married 26 Sep 1768 to Jemima Allen.  Nathaniel died in 1802 in Plainfield, Connecticut.

9. Phineas Gates

Phineas’ wife Esther Herrick was born 16 Apr 1738 in Preston, CT.  Her parents were Ephraim Herrick and Rachel Fellows.

Phineas was a solider in the Seven Years War, Battle of Havana from 20 Mar 1762 until he was died 30 Nov 1762, like his brother probably of Yellow Fever in  Cuba.   He served with his brother Azariah in the First Connecticut Regiment under Major General Phineas Lyman, Fifth Company under Captain John Stanton .

Adults of the yellow fever mosquito Aedes aegypti. The male on the left, females on the right. Only the female mosquito bites can transmit the disease

Excerpt from the Journal of the Rev. John Graham. Chaplain First Connecticut Regiment in the Havana Expedition, 1762. Published by the New York Society of Colonial Wars

Saturday, September 25, 1762.—A Pleasant morning, nothing extraordinary happened the last Night—but Sable night in gloomy Majesty sat upon the Camp, a Season, when men used to labour and fatague in ye day retire from Labour to recline their weary Limbs, and refresh themselves with rest. . . . But in Camp how wide the’ difference, the Season, true, invites to Rest but alas the heavy murmurs that humme among the Tents, and bursting groans from throbing hearts Seized with panick, horror and Surprise because febrile flame kindles upon their vitals, or Tyrant pain, Tyger like preys upon their Bones or as a harpy Devours their entrails, forbids repose—nor Sooner did I deposite my weary Limbs in Bed and embrace the delectable pillow, but groan echoes to groan, and Sigh rises upon Sigh not unlike the waves and billows of a Raging Sea. . . . Thus with our Melancholly Camp a fatal desease enters tent after Tent, and with irresistable force strikes hands with soldier after Soldier, and with hostile violence Seizes the brave, the bold, the hearty and the Strong, no force of arms, no Strength of Limbs, no Solemn vows, no piteous moans, no heartrending Groans, no vertue in means, no Skill of Physicians can free from the Tyrant hand, but death cruel death that stands Just behind, draws the Curtain, Shews himself to the unhappy prisoner, and with peircing Sound Cried thou art, and at once throws his fatal dart, and fast binds them in Iron Chains—or Some disease in a Milder way Salutes them, and more gently treats them, but by Sure and certain Steps flatters them along by Slow degrees till they are introduced into the hands of unrelenting death. . . . Others roll from Side to Side, and turn into every posture to find ease from pain that wrack their Tortured limbs—others that are yet untouch’d with diseases Called from their rest to help the distressed: hearken and likely you’l hear them as they pass along, return oaths for groans and Curses for Sighs horrible to hear! Thus death in Camp reigns and has Tryumphed over Scores already, and diseases has hundreds fast bound as prisoners—and how few alas how few are prisoners of Hope.

But are Soldiers the only persons attacked or exposed? Verilly no, where are the Capts. the Lt. and Ensign that lately appeared and adorned our Camp, now Succeeded by others in the Same Command; are they not becom victims to Death, and Now held prisoners in the Grave on this Barbarous land, their deposited with many of their bold Soldiers till the last trumpit shall wake the Sleeping dead. . . . But heark, mithink I hear a different voice, uttering heavy Groans where is it? Surely it’s in the next Tent, O the officers of the field, Certainly no defference paid to Rank—The 2d in Command in the Regiment is Seized with Cold Chills that pass through every part, throws all nature into violent agitation and Shakes the whole frame; a febrile flame Succeeds, this alternate, till his vigorous and active limbs becomes feeble, and his ruddy Countenance, put on a pale and Languide hue—yet he lives. . . . Thus night after night are we accosted with the cries and Groan of the Sick and dying. Lamentations, Mourning and Woe in all most every Tent; and what hearts so hard? Who so past all Sensation, thats invested with any Degree of humanitv, as not to feel a Sympathetic Smart. . . .

Sources:

http://trees.ancestry.com/owt/person.aspx?pid=16785785

http://trees.ancestry.com/tree/8146634/person/-918180857

http://newenglandgenealogy.pcplayground.com/f_75.htm#53

Genealogies of Connecticut families: from the New England historical and … By Judith McGhan, Genealogical Publishing Co

http://www.theharmons.us/harmon_t/names35.htm#GATES

Rolls of Connecticut men in the French and Indian War, 1755-1762, Volume 2 By Connecticut Historical Society

http://hubpages.com/hub/Battle-of-Havana-1762-AD

Public opinion, Volume 24

Stephen Gates of Hingham and Lancaster, Massachusetts, and his descendents : a preliminary work subject to addition and correction” 1898 Charles Otis Gates (Author)

About these ads
Posted in 10th Generation, Historical Monument, Line - Shaw, Storied, Veteran | Tagged , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Oliver Perkins Sr.

Oliver PERKINS Sr. (1713 – 1782) was Alex’s 7th Grandfather; one of 256 in this generation of the Shaw line.

Oliver Perkins Sr. was born 29 APR 1713 in Preston City, New London, CT. His parents were Ebenezer PERKINS and Hannah SAFFORD. He married Hannah GATES on 10 Jan 1733/34 in the  2nd Church in Preston (now Griswold, CT)  He was from Voluntown, CT when he was married.  Oliver died 26 Jan 1782 in Hoosick, Rensselaer, NY.

Oliver died in Hoosick, Rensselaer County, NY

Hannah Gates was born 14 OCT 1713 in Preston City, New London, CT. Her parents were Stephen GATES and Hannah WOODWARD.   Hannah died 21 OCT 1762 in West Greenwich, Kent, Rhode Island.

Children of Oliver and Hannah:

Name Born Married Departed
1. Phineas Perkins 1734
2. Moses Perkins 1735 Keziah [__?__]
3. Charity Perkins 17 Feb 1736/37 Norwich, New London, CT [__?__] Harington (Harrington)
4. Hannah Perkins 1736 or    9 Feb 1733
New London, CT
Benjamin Tanner
3 Jun 1762 West Greenwich, Kent Co., Rhode Island.
May 1802 West Greenwich, Kent, RI
5. Silas Perkins 1738
6. Oliver PERKINS Jr. 1740
Connecticut
[__?__] 1805
Saratoga, NY
7. Susanah Perkins 1744
8. Elizabeth Perkins 1749 or 1758 Ichabod Prosser
9. Prudence Perkins 1754 Ephraim Newell
10. Rufus Perkins 1755 or 1759
Preston City, CT
Susanna Dutton
6 Nov 1785
Chester, Windsor, Vermont
1803
Chester, Vermont
11. Eunice Perkins 26 Dec 1757
Scituate, Providence, Rhode Island
Richard Brown
1775
Pownal, Vermont
21 Jan 1833 Pownal, Bennington, Vermont

Oliver Perkins Sr Will

x

Children

2. Moses Perkins

Moses’ wife Keziah [__?__] was born

Moses Perkins owned various parcels of land in the Lanesborough and North
Adams townships of Berkshire Co Massachusetts in the 1770’s & 1780’s. He
also owned land near Pownal VT in 1780’s. Several of the deeds list his wife as Keziah/Kesiah Perkins. Moses was one of the son’s of Oliver Perkins, who also owned land in the same part of Berkshire County. Moses undoubtedly served in the Rev. War,
and likely fought at the Battle of Bennington (VT).

4. Hannah Perkins

Hannah’s husband Benjamin Tanner was born 20 Aug 1730 in W. Greenwich, Rhode Island.  His parents were Benjamin Tanner (b. 24 Dec 1692 South Kingston, Washington, Rhode Island)  and  Joanna Lewis or Deborah Stillman. Benjamin died 05 Jun 1777 in W. Greenwich or Exeter, RI

Benjamin first married Elizabeth Colgrove (b: 2 Jun 1729 in Warwick, Rhode Island) and had four children: Benjamin (b. 1755), Mary (b. 1757), Hannah (b. 1759) and Joanna (b. 1761).

It appears from the Town Records of West Greenwich that Benjamin Tanner and his brother, James, were soldiers in the Revolution. Also that they belonged to the Third Company, and with others being unable to equip themselves in accordance with the Act of the General Assembly, provision was made for them accordingly.

Children of Hannah and Benjamin:

i. Joseph Tanner b. 9 Feb 1763 West Greenwich, Kent, Rhode Island; d. 18 Dec 1819 Mount Pleasant, Wayne, Pennsylvania; m. 27 May 1784 Preston, New London, CT to Lydia Stanton (b. 24 Feb 1761 in Preston City, New London, CT) Lydia’s parents were Samuel Stanton (1726 – 1803) and Mary Palmer (1736 – 1815)

Wayne County, Pennsylvania

Wayne County, Pennsylvania

Mount Pleasant Township is on the eastern border of Wayne County.

Mount Pleasant Township is on the eastern border of Wayne County.

Joseph moved from Preston, Connecticut and settled in what would become Wayne Co, PA in the spring of 1793 and had only one child. He built the first framed house in the area in 1795. In 1798 Wayne County was established from part of Northampton County. It is named after Anthony Wayne, a Major-General in the Revolutionary War. In 1806 the first store opened “Granger & Tanner” and in 1808 Joseph build the first house in the village (but it was burned down in 1811).

Joseph Tanner was the first Justice of the Peace after the organization of the town and county, since Mr. Stanton was commissioned in Northampton Co. Benjamin Dix was the first Constable.

ii. John Tanner b. 22 Apr 1764 West Greenwich, Rhode Island; d. 23 Jan 1843 Jackson, Susquehanna, Pennsylvania; Burial: North Jackson Cemetery, Jackson, Susquehanna County; m. 30 Dec 1790 in Kent, Rhode Island to Sarah Patch (b. 1 Jun 1770 in Chesterfield, Mass. – d. 18 Jul 1802 in Pleasent Mount, Pennsylvania) Sarah’s parents were Ephraim Patch (1723 – 1807) and Penelope Dana (1731-1804) John and Sarah had four children.

iii. Nathan Tanner b. 11 Apr 1766 Rhode Island

iv. Oliver Tanner b. 7 May 1768 Rhode Island; d. 1769

v. Clarke Tanner b. 5 Jun 1771 West Greenwich, Rhode Island; d. 16 Feb 1810 Mt Pleasent, Wayne, Pennsylvania; m. 17 Oct 1789 in Mt Pleasant, Wayne, Pennsylvania to Sabra Tyler (b. 1769 – d. 10 Dec. 1843 and is buried in N. Jackson Cem, N. Jackson, Susquehanna Co., PA Clarke and Sabra had three children.

Sabra, and Clarke’s brothers Joseph and Silas were administrators of his estate, filed Mar 26 1810.

vi. Stephen Tanner b. 13 Apr 1774; d. Feb 1848 Burial: Hamlet Cemetery, Hamlet, Chautauqua, New York; m. 2 Jun 1793 in Preston, Connecticut to Elizabeth “Betsy” Rose (b. 17 Jun 1772 in Preston, CT – d. 8 May 1837 Villenova, Chaut.; NY Burial: Hamlet Cemetery, Hamlet, Chautauqua, NY) Stephen and Betsey had ten children born between 1793 and 1812.

5 Apr 1791 Age: 16 – Stephen chose Joseph Gates of Preston, CT for his guardian.

It looks like Stephen and Betsey moved to Herkimer County, NY right after their marriage because that is where their first daughter Elizabeth was born.

vii. Silas Tanner b. 14 Oct 1776 West Greenwich, Kent, Rhode Island; d. 9 Apr 1865 McHenry, Illinois; m. 24 Feb 1798 in Hampden, Mass. to Mary “Molly” Gilmore (b. 21 Nov 1778 in Chester, Hampden, Mass. – d. 16 Feb 1848 in Chester Center, Geauga, Ohio) Mary’s parents were James Gilmore (1752 – 1829) and Nancy [__?__] (1756 – 1833). Silas and Mary had ten children born between 1799 and 1819, including Silas Jr. who died at eleven years old 5 Mar 1831 Burial: Old Settlement Cemetery, Geauga County, Ohio Plot: Lot 31.

Silas and Mary were pioneers in Geauga, Ohio (Racoon in the Onondaga or Seneca language) along with Mary’s parents James and Nancy.

Silas was living in Chester, Geauga, Ohio in the 1820, 1830 and 1840 census.

The first settlement in Geauga was at Burton, Ohio in the year 1798, when three families settled there from Connecticut. Geauga County was founded on Mar 1 1806 as the second county in the Connecticut Western Reserve, originating from Trumbull County, Ohio. Geauga County is part of the Cleveland–Elyria–Mentor Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Inscription:
MARY
Wife of
SILAS TANNER
DIED
FEBRUARY 16, 1846
AGED
67 Years

Burial:
Old Settlement Cemetery
Geauga County
Ohio, USA
Plot: Lot 31

6. Oliver PERKINS Jr.  (See his page)

8. Elizabeth Perkins

Elizabeth’s husband Ichabod Prosser was born about 1741. His parents were Ichabod Arnold Prosser Sr. (1714 – ) and Patience Lanphere (1717 – 1758). He first married Abigail Maccoon (b. 1741 in Westerly, Washington, Rhode Island – d. 1782) and had four boys: John (1774 – 1810), Asa (1777 – 1863), Ichabod (1779 – 1849) and Joseph (1782 – ). Ichabod died between 25 Jul 1814 when he wrote his will and 16 Feb 1818 when probate was recorded in Petersburgh Township, Rensselaer, New York.

Jun 18 1766 – Elias McCoon/Coon to Ichabod Prosser 30 Acres bounded Joshua Maccoon, Stephen Larkin, Caleb Ney [Hopkinton, Rhode Island 2:27]

Ichabod Prosser bought property in Hopkinton, Washington, Rhode Island in 1766.

Ichabod Prosser bought property in Hopkinton, Washington, Rhode Island in 1766.

In 1767 a score or more of houses dotted [Petersburgh Township, Rensselaer, New York.] Among those occupying farms there at this time were Peter Backus, Hans Backus, John Ruyter, Henry Letcher, Hans Lantman, Barent Hoag, John G. Brimmer, Jacob Best, Petrus Vosburg, Bastian Ueil, Juriah Kreiger, Franz Burns, Henry Young, Schole Martes Watson and Peter Simmons. A few years later the families of John Church and Nathaniel Church ; William W. Reynolds, who came from Rhode Island; Ichabod Prosser, from Vermont; Joshua Thomas and Benjamin Randall, the Dayfoot brothers, Abraham and Augustus Lewis, Simeon Odell, Olivier Spencer, Stephen Card, Sylvanus Stephens, Stanton Bailey, Gideon Clark, Sterry Hewitt, Asa Maxon, David Maxon, Joseph Allen, William Hiscox, James Weaver and Thomas Phillips settled there, all before the close of the eighteenth century. Other early settlers were Hezekiah Coon, Benjamin Hanks, John Nichols, Aaron Cole, Ichabod Irish, David Hustis, William Clark, Archibald Thomas George Gardner, Laban Jones, Stephen Potter, John G. Croy and Lyman Maine.

Ichabod removed to Petersburgh, Rensselaer, New York before the Revolution

Ichabod removed to Petersburgh, Rensselaer, New York before the Revolution

Petersburgh is a town located in the northeast section of Rensselaer County.. The population was 1,525 at the 2010 census. The town was named after an early settler named Peter Simmons. The area was settled around the middle of the 18th century and was part of the Manor of Rensselaerswyck. The town was created in 1791 from the Town of Stephentown. The size of this town was diminished by the formation of other towns in the county, including the Towns of Berlin and Lansingburgh in 1806, and Grafton and Nassau in 1807.

Petersburgh was sparsely settled at the beginning of the War of the Revolution, and the number of men it sent to engage in that struggle therefore was not large. Among those who did serve in that war, however, were James Weaver, Lyman Maine, Ichabod Prosser, Gideon Clark, Sterry Hewitt and Arnold Worden.

In the 1790 census, Ichabod Prossar was living in Stephen Town, Albany, New York.

In the 1810 census, Jchabod Porser was living in Petersburg, Rensselaer, New York with a household of seven.

Ichabod Prosser Will

Ichabod Prosser Will

Children of Elizabeth and Ichabod:

i. Patience Prosser b. 1784 Petersburgh, Rensselaer, New York; m. Dr. Peter T Olds (b. 1775)

About 1800 Dr. Job Tripp located at the village of Berlin, Rensselaer County, New York,, and soon after the practice of that locality was shared by Dr. Peter T. Olds. Dr. Burton Hammond, Dr. Emerson Hull and Dr. Henry Brown were in practice in the town a little later. The town is named after Berlin in Germany, although natives pronounce the name differently, with the accent on the first syllable.

ii. Avis Prosser b. 1790 Petersburgh, Rensselaer, New York; m. Thomas Coon (b. 1786 in Connecticut – d. bef. 1850 Petersburg, Rensselaer, New York) Avis and Thomas had at least three children born between 1812 and 1831.

In 1850, Avis Coon was farming in Georgetown, Madison, New York with 45 improved acres and 42 unimproved.

iii. Elizabeth Prosser b. 22 Mar 1791 in Petersburg, Rensselaer, New York; d. 19 Sep 1866 in Green Oak, Livingston, Michigan; m. 16 Oct 1807 to Joel Avery Burdick (b. 2 Nov 1787 in Petersburg – d. 13 Apr 1858 in Nassau, Renneslaer, New York) Joel’s parents were Zillimus Burdick (1745 – 1812) and Lydia Lewis (1750 – 1800) Elizabeth and Joel had fourteen children born between 1809 and 1836.

In the 1860 census, Elizabeth was living near Whitmore Lake, Northfield, Washtenaw, Michigan with her daughters Jane who was a dressmaker and Helen who was a school teacher.

9. Prudence Perkins

Prudence’s husband Ephraim Newell was born 11 Feb 1742 Attleboro, Mass or 1745 in Dalton, Mass,. His parents were Ephraim Newell Sr. (1715 – 1782) and Ann Pierce (Perce) (1718 – 1791). Ephraim died in 1820.

Ephraim enlisted Jun 30, 1777 as a private in Capt John Strong’s Company, Col. John Brown’s Regiment (Berkshire County), discharged Jul 26, 1177.

In the 1790 census, Ephraim had a household of 10 and in 1800 a household of six in Dalton, Berkshire, Mass.

Ephraim moved around 1800 to Highgate VT, where he died in 1820.(info from New England Historical & Genealogical Register 1901.)

Children of Prudence and Ephraim

i. Martha Patty Newell (b. 1776 in Dalton Berkshire, Mass.; d. 5 Sep 1861 in Dalton; m. John Curtis Sr. (b. 3 Dec 1772 in Oxford, Worcester, Mass. – d. 3 Jul 1852 in Dalton) John’s parents were Elijah Curtis (1737 – 1808) and Elizabeth Sparhawk (1736 – 1808) Martha and John had nine children born between 1795 and 1823.

In the 1860 census, Martha was living with her son Henry’s family in Dalton, Berkshire, Mass

ii. Stephen Newell (b. 1994 Dalton, Berkshire, Mass.; d. aft, 1860 census Spafford, Onondaga, New York; m. Mary Cuykendall (b. ~ 1800 in New Jersey; d. aft 1860 census Spafford) Stephen and Mary had three children born in 1829, 1833 and 1839.

In the 1850 census, Stephen and Mary were farming in Spafford, Onondaga, New York.

10. Rufus Perkins

Rufus’ wife Susanna Dutton was born 7 Mar 1759 in Lunenburg, Worcester, Massachusetts. Her parents were Thomas Dutton and Sarah Fitch. Susanna died about 1810 in Vermont.

Rufus was a clothier in Chester, Vermont.

Children of Rufus and Susanna

i. James Perkins b. 29 Apr 1785 in Rockingham, Windsor, Vermont; d. 13 Dec 1844; m. 17 Feb 1807 in Chester, Vermont to Mary “Polly” Butterfield (b. 6 Feb 1790 in New York or Dunstable, New Hampshire – d. 9 Aug 1870 in Hampden, Hampden, Mass) Polly’s parents were Charles Butterfield (1759 – 1845) and Sarah Vicory Warren (1760 – 1836) James and Polly had fourteen children born between 1807 and 1835.

ii. Capt. Moses Perkins b. 10 Apr 1786 in Chester, Vermont; d. 4 Jan 1858 in Rutland, Vermont; Burial: West Street Cemetery, Rutland; m. 18 Oct 1807 Marriage Record Found In The Town Record Of Chester, VT to Huldah Williams (b. 10 Jun 1789 in Chester, Vermont – d. 8 Apr 1864 in Rutland, Vermont) Huldah’s parents were Othniel Williams (1761 – 1815) and Dorcas Field (1766 – 1840).

Huldah’s father was an officer in the Revolutionary War

In the 1850 census, Moses and Hulda were farming in Rutland, Rutland, Vermont.

From the Rutland Herald, Jan. 7, 1858:
Died, in this town, Jan. 4, Capt. Moses Perkins, in the 72d year of his age.
When a respected and useful citizen is removed from the midst of us, the event demands more than a passing notice. The bereavement falls not upon the family circle alone, but extends to all who have, in various ways, been associated with him in the business aspects of life. The whole community feels the loss.

Capt. Perkins was born in the town of Rockingham, VT, April 10, 1786, and spent the years of his youth and early manhood on the East side of the Green Mountains. His father died when he was but eighteen years of age, and being the oldest child, the charge of his widowed mother and her nine younger children devolved chiefly upon his hands. This responsible trust he filially and honorably discharged; – thus in early life securing habits of industry, self reliance and enterprise which marked his whole subsequent course. Removing to this vicinity in early manhood, he soon became extensively known as an upright, energetic, business man, – a prompt, reliable Christian citizen.
For the last eighteen years he has resided in the village of East Rutland, encircled by the families of his children and children’s children, enjoying a large measure of the respect of this community. And as an evidence of the general confidence reposed in him he has been called to give a large portion of his time for many years to the settlement of the estates of deceased persons, and caring for the widow and the fatherless. This delicate trust he has, as is believed, wisely and faithfully fulfilled.

In his Christian counsels and prayers, – in his examples of uprightness and integrity, and in the grounds he has given them by his life and death, for believing that their loss is his gain, he has left to his bereaved family a precious legacy.

His protracted and painful sickness he bore with Christian fortitude, sustained by the consolations and hopes of that Gospel which he had openly professed thirty-five years before. Having at an early stage of his disease set his house in order, by the adjustment of his worldly affairs, he waited til his change should come. His last days were marked by a sweet and child-like submission to the Divine will. His end was peace.

Moses Perkins (1786 – 1858) Portrait

Huldah Williams Perkins(1789 – 1864) Portrait

iii. Rufus Perkins b. 29 Aug 1788 in Rockingham, VT; d. 8 Jul 1847 in East Middlebury, Addison, Vermont; Burial: Prospect Cemetery, East Middlebury, Addison County, Vermont; m. 30 Jul 1815 in Middlebury, Vermont to Sylvia Tupper (b. 24 Dec 1790 in Charlotte, Chitten, Vermont – d. Franklin, New York) Sylvia’s sister Laura married Rufus’ brother Silas. Their parents were Darius Tupper (1754 – 1828) and Sarah Harris Lyman (1758 – 1846). Rufus and Sylvia had five children born between 1816 and 1826 in East Middlebury.

Sylvia’s father Darius Tupper served as a private in Col. James Easton’s Regiment in the Revolutionary War.

iii. Abel Perkins b. 3 Mar 1790 in Rockingham, VT; m. 5 Mar 1812 in Shrewsbury, Rutland, Vermont to Jane Miller(b. 1788 in Rhode Island) Jane’s parents were Consider Miller (1760 – 1832) and Dianna Field.

In the 1850 census, Abel and Jane were living in Frankfort, Will, Illinois.

iv. Oliver Perkins b. 12 Feb 1792 in Chester, Vt.

In the 1820 census, an Oliver Perkins was living in Clarendon, Rutland, Vermont with a wife and a boy and girl under 10.

v. Lydia Perkins b. 23 May 1794 in Chester, VT

vi. Amasa Perkins b. 5 Feb 1795 in Chester, Windsor, VT; d. 3 Aug 1875 Fennimore, Grant, Wisconsin; m. 22 Mar 1819 to Lucy Bullard (b. 22 Feb 1802 in Barre, Worcester, Massachusetts – d. Clarendon, Rutland, Vermont. Lucy’s parents were John Bullard (1776 – 1855) and Lucy Buxton (1775 – 1831). Amasa and Lucy had seven children born between 1819 and 1840.

In the 1850 census, Amasa and Lucy were farming in Rutland, Rutland, Vermont with fivechildren at home ages 9 to 25, son-in-law Thomas Alchin and newborn grandson Charles Alchin.

vii. Aaron Perkins (twin) b. 25 Jan 1797 in Chester, VT; d. 2 Jun 1884 – Mount Holly, Rutland, Vermont; m1. Sarah Hayward or Howard; m2. Elvira Lilie (b. 1808 Tunbridge, Vermont – d. 12 Dec 1892 Croydon, New Hampshire)

In the 1850 census, Elvira (age 42) was still living with her parents John Lilie and Liba Goodwill in Tunbridge, Orange, Vermont.

In the 1880 census, Aaron and Elvira were retired in Stockbridge, Windsor, Vermont.

viii. Elizabeth “Betsey” Perkins (twin) b. 25 Jan 1797 in Chester, VT; d. 28 Dec 1876 in Mount Holly, Rutland, Vermont; m. 1817 to Henry Pike (b. 10 Apr 1795 in Newfane VT) Henry’s parents were Elijah Pike (1768 – ) and Mary Brown.

In the 1850 census, Henry and Betsey were farming in Shrewsbury, Rutland, Vermont with seven children at home ages 7 to 21.

In the 1860 census, Harry and Betsey were farming in Mendon, Rutland, Vermont. Their daughter Clarissa was a teacher.

ix. Silas Perkins b. 25 Jan 1799 in Chester, VT; d. 2 Jun 1884 in Mount Holly, Rutland, Vermont; m. 26 May 1829 to Laura Tupper (b. abt 1799 in Vermont – d. 24 Mar 1881 in Middlebury, Addison, Vermont) Laura’s sister Silvia married Silas’s brother Rufus. Their parents were Darius Tupper (1754 – 1828) and Sara Harris Lyman (1758 – 1846). Silas and Laura had eight children born between 1830 and 1843.

Laura’s father Darius Tupper served as a private in Col. James Easton’s Regiment in the Revolutionary War.

In the 1870 census, Silas and Laura were farming in Mount Holly, Rutland, Vermont.

x. Stephen Perkins b. 1801 Chester VT; m. 1828 to Elizabeth Butterfield (b. 1808)

A Stephen Perkins born about 1803 – Vermont died 12 May 1885 – Tekonsha, Calhoun, Michigan. In the 1850 census, this Stephen was living in Sheridan, Calhoun, Michigan with four children ages 4 to 15.

11. Eunice Perkins

Eunice’s husband Richard Brown was born 16 Dec 1754 in Rhode Island. His parents were  William Brown ( – 1788) and Naomi [__?__] ( – 1764).  Richard died 21 Feb 1813 in North Pownal, Vermont. (POWNAL GRAVESTONES IN 1910 PAGE 44)

Pownal is in the extreme southwest corner of Vermont

Pownal is in the extreme southwest corner of Vermont

The southwestern corner of Pownal was part of the Rensselaerswyck patroonship passed into English control in 1664. The first European settlers may have entered the area in the 1730s. Those first European settlers may have been Dutch or other Europeans who leased land within Rensselaerwyck. On January 28, 1760, New Hampshire Governor Benning Wentworth chartered Pownal, which he named after his fellow royal governor, Thomas Pownall of the Province of Massachusetts Bay.

Thereafter, settlers, primarily of English descent, began to arrive from Massachusetts, Connecticut and Rhode Island. In 1766, 185 male heads of households in Pownal sent a petition to George III, asking that their land claims be recognized and that the fees required to do so be waived. Since Wentworth had granted to settlers land that the Province of New York also claimed, legal and physical conflicts broke out between “Yorkers” and settlers in the New Hampshire Grants (or “The Grants”). As a result, a number of Pownal residents joined the Green Mountain Boys under Ethan Allen. By the American Revolution, the town was deeply divided between Patriots and Loyalists. The Battle of Bennington (Aug 27 1777) was fought about 15 miles away in Walloomsac, New York.

Pownal citizens have long prided themselves on their independent spirit. In 1789, a touring minister, the Rev. Nathan Perkins, described the town this way: ” . . . Pawnal ye first town, poor land – very unpleasant – very uneven – miserable set of inhabitants – no religion, Rhode Island haters of religion – Baptists, quakers, & some Presbyterians – no meeting house.”

Children of Eunice and Richard:

i. Joseph Brown b. 16 Nov 1776 Pownal, Bennington, Vermont; d. 14 Apr 1810 Plattsburgh, Clinton, NY; m. 27 Aug 1797 – Providence, RI to Sarah Chapman (b. 04 Jun 1771 in Rhode Island – d. 02 Oct 1844 in Clarence Hollow, NY) Sarah’s parents were Nathaniel Chapman (1742 – 1820) and Phoebe Rhodes (1748 – 1823) Joseph and Sarah had five children born between 1796 and 1806

ii. Olive Brown b. 04 Jul 1779 in Pownal, Bennington, Vermont; d. 09 Mar 1796 North Pownal (POWNAL GRAVESTONES IN 1910 PAGE 44)

iii. Anna Brown b. 20 Jun 1782 in Pownal, Bennington, Vermont; d. 09 Sep 1795 Also Here North Pownal Cemetery

iv. Benjamin Brown b. 24 Apr 1784 in Pownal, Bennington, Vermont; d. Aft. 1860 census, Oneonta, Otsego, New York m. Betsy Evons

In the 1850 census, Benjamin and Betsy were living alone in New Lisbon, Otsego, New York with only $200 of real estate.

v. David Brown (twin) b. 07 Nov 1786 in Pownal, Bennington, Vermont; d. 9 May 1817 Pownal

vi. Jonathan Brown (twin) b. 7 Nov 1786 Pownal, Bennington, Vermont; d. 21 Jun 1860 – Pownal, Bennington, VT; m. 2 Apr 1809 in Pownal to Laura Alger (b 22 Jan 1791 in Pownal, Bennington, VT) Jonathan and Laura had eleven children born between 1810 and 1836.

In the 1850 census, Jonathan and Laura were farming in Pownal, Bennington, Vermont.

vii. Nicholas Brown b. 09 Apr 1790 in Pownal, Bennington, Vermont

viii. William R Brown b. 25 Mar 1792 in Pownal, Bennington, Vermont; d. 13 Apr 1849 in Pownal; m. 31 May 1813 Pownal to Deidamia C Covell (b. ~ 1792 in Galway, Saratoga, New York) Deidamia’s parents were Lemuel Covell (1764 – 1806) and Clarissa Cordelia Mather (1772 – 1844) William and Deidamia had thirteen children born between 1813 and 1838.

ix. Daniel Brown b. 13 Sep 1797 in Pownal, Bennington, Vermont

x. Ethan Allen Brown b. 11 May 1800 in Pownal, Bennington, Vermont; d. 9 Apr 1876 Pownal; m. 13 Jan 1841 Mary Francis McMasters (b. 15 May 1811 Pownal – d. 11 Dec 1891 Pownal) Mary’s parents were Isaac McMaster (1757 – 1844) and Lilly Ann Skinner (1781 – 1850)

In the 1850 censusewd32e, Ethan and Mary were farming in Pownal, Bennington, Vermont.

Sources:

http://trees.ancestry.com/owt/person.aspx?pid=37528389

http://trees.ancestry.com/tree/9603012/person/-750435718

http://familytreemaker.genealogy.com/users/m/c/l/Gary-L-Mclellen/FAMO1-0001/d182.htm#P74

http://familytreemaker.genealogy.com/users/g/a/t/Alton-H-Gates/WEBSITE-0001/UHP-1898.html

http://www.rays-place.com/marrage/griswold-preston-ct.htm

“BRANCHES & ROOTS of OLIVER PERKINS: A Genealogical Study of his Ancestry, his Descendants and their Allied Families.” By: Steven G. Perkins, Gateway Press, Inc., Baltimore, MD Ê(1999). DPR Library of Congress Catalog Card Number 99-71471

http://trees.ancestry.com/tree/20935427/person/1002618755

Landmarks of Rensselaer county, New York (1897) – Info on Ichabod Prosser

Posted in -9th Generation, Line - Shaw | Tagged , | 7 Comments

Oliver Perkins Jr.

Oliver PERKINS Jr. (1740 – 1805) was Alex’s 6th Grandfather; one of 128 in this generation of the Shaw line.

Oliver Perkins Jr. was born in 1740 in Connecticut. His parents were Oliver PERKINS Sr. and Hannah GATES.  Oliver died in Apr 1805 in Saratoga County, New York.

The name of Oliver’s wife is not known. Oliver’s first cousin once removed, also Oliver Perkins Jr. (b.1770) married Ann Kennedy on 27 Dec 1792 in Voluntown, Connecticut. This Oliver was the son of Oliver Perkins and Ruth Wilcox, grandson of Newman Perkins and Mehitable Godfrey, and great grandson of Oliver’s grandfather Ebenezer PERKINS Sr. and Hannah STAFFORD. Our Oliver was living in Saratoga, New York at the time.

Children of Oliver and [__?__]:

Name Born Married Departed
1. Betsy Perkins Aft. Oliver’s 1805 will
2. Prudence PERKINS 21 May 1775 in New York Eliphalet FOSTER
13 Feb 1803
24 Mar 1856 Farmington Township, Tioga County, PA.
3. Charlotte Perkins 1779
Wallingford, New Haven, CT
Ephraim Annable 6 Jan 1868
Barkersville Cemetery, Providence, Saratoga, NY
4. Sally Perkins 1780 Aft. Oliver’s 1805 will
5. Jacob Perkins 1781
Saratoga, NY
Mary [_?_] 28 Jul 1837
Saratoga
6. Gamaliel Perkins 9 Mar 1788
Saratoga, NY
Lucy Sherman
.
Catharine Mulford
6 Jun 1869
Saratoga, NY of a broken arm

Martin Irish, Ashbel Irish, Oliver Perkins, Silas Deuel, Ephraim Anable, Stephen Viele, Johannes Viele, Ludovicus Viele and Jesse Toll are known to have been located in Saratoga prior to 1790. The latter at one time owned an entire grand division of the Saratoga patent — six square miles of land.

Oliver Perkins was listed 1790 NY Census at Saratoga, Albany Co., NY.  He had a large household of 10, though there doesn’t seem to be room for a wife in the count.

3 Males Under 16 (Gamaliel, Jacob, One Other)
3 Males Over 16 (Oliver, Two Others)
4 Females  (Sally, Prudence, Charlotte, Betsy)

Oliver was also listed in the  1800 Census at Saratoga, Saratoga Co., NY

Males Under 10: 1
Males 10 to 15: 1 (Gamaliel)
Males 16 to 25: 1 (Jacob)
Males 45 and Over : 1  (Oliver)
Females Under 10 : 1
Females 10 to 15 : 2
Females 16 to 25 : 1 (Prudence)
Females 45 and Over : 1 (Wife?)
Number of Household Members Under 16 : 5
Number of Household Members Over 25 : 2
Number of Household Members: 9

The first around settlements Saratoga Lake New York were made about 1785.  Oliver Perkins was a resident of Saratoga New York in the 1790 and 1800 census. One source locates his there as early as 1777.

Oliver Perkins lived where Thomas Sweet now lives [In 1878, wherever that was!]

Marks for cattle are recorded in 1789 by Grover Buell, Thomas Thompson, John Craig, Sidney Berry, John Berry, Asaph Putnam, Silas Duell, Oliver Perkins.

Among cattle-mark records, 1795, we find Enoch Phillips, David Ackerman, Augustus Green, Matthew Van Amburgh, Jonathan Foster, William Smith, Christopher Perkins.

There was a Gamaliel Vail living in Saratoga in the 1790’s. I have never heard of the name Gamaliel before. Maybe this is a lead to Oliver’s wife. Though this page says no.

Will Records of Saratoga County, New York 1796-1805
Will Records of Saratoga County, New York
OSPage: 295
Name: Oliver Perkins
My two sons: Jacob and Gamaliel My daughters: Prudence, Sally, Betsy, and Charlotte Jacob Perkins and Thomas Hunt, Exe. Written: 3 April 1805 Probated: 20 April 1805.

Oliver Perkins Will

The town of Northumberland was first settled about ten years before the Revolution. Hugh Munroe came to Northumberland in 1765 and erected a saw mill on the bank of one of the creeks in the eastern part of the town at Gansevoort. He was a noted Tory. He fled to Canada and his property was confiscated. James Brisbin settled, also in 1765, about a mile and a half west of Fort Miller. Archibald McNeil probably was the first to locate at what is now Northumberland village. Fort Miller was built -in this town in 1755, under the direction of Colonel Miller. It was located upon the flat, above the rapids, and was inclosed on three’ sides by the river. A blockhouse was built on the heights that commands the position on the west. Fort Miller bridge was first erected by a company incorporated March 16, 1803. A new bridge was built in 1845. John De Monts opened a store just above Fort Miller soon after the Revolution. Alexander Bacon had the first store at Bacon Hill and Charles Carpenter at Northumberland village.

There are three small villages in Northumberland. – Gansevoort was named after Colonel Peter Gansevoort, a Revolutionary hero who, at the close of the war, bought the estate of the Tory Hugh Munroe, discovered the irons of Munroe’s mill and erected a saw mill and a grist mill. Bacon Hill was named after Ebenezer Bacon, who came from Connecticut and settled there in 1794, opening the first frame tavern in town that year. The place was formerly called Fiddletown and Pope’s Corners. Northumberland lies on the Champlain canal in the extreme southeastern part of the town.

Children

2. Prudence PERKINS (See Eliphalet FOSTER‘s page)

3. Charlotte Perkins

Charlotte’s husband Ephraim Annable was born 25 Aug 1782 in Saratoga, New York. His parents were Ephraim Annable (1744 – 1818) and Margaret Coffin (1756 – ). Ephraim died 25 Jun 1842 in Town of Providence, Saratoga, New York

Note: some sources say that Ephraim’s wife was Charlotte Hall and her parents were Moses Hall (1755 – 1837) and Lucy Hart (1764 – 1848).  They agree she was from Wallingford, Connecticut and moved to Saratoga, New York.

Charlotte Annable Headstone

Children of Charlotte and Ephraim:

i. Abner Hall Annable, b. 8 Jul 1811 in Saratoga County, New York; d. 1 Apr 1891 in Le Ray, Jefferson, New York; m1. Sally H Meyers (b. abt 1815 in Northampton, Fulton New York – d. 18 Jan 1860 in Le Ray, Jefferson, New York); m2. Martha [__?__] (b. 1837 Canada)

Jefferson County New York

In the 1850 census, Abner and Sally “Ha Hannibal” were farming in Alexandria Township, Jeffferson, New York.  Alexandria is the northern most portion of the county

Alexandria Township, Jefferson County, New York Land Ownership Map 1864 Record for A H Annable

In the 1870 census, Abner and Martha were farming in Alexandria, Jefferson, New York.

A panorama of Alexandria Bay taken from nearby Boldt’s Castle

5. Jacob Perkins

Jacob’s wife Mary [_?_]

Children of Jacob and Mary

i. Hiram Montgomery Perkins b. 16 Sep 1806 in Saratoga, Saratoga, New York; d. 21 Jul 1859 in Wilton, Saratoga, New York of Inflammatory Rheumatism; m. Elizabeth King (b. 27 Feb 1817 in Wilton, Saratoga, New York – d. 6 Aug 1861 in Wilton, Saratoga, New York)

In the 1850 census, Hiram and Elizabeth were farming in Saratoga, Saratoga, New York with eight children at home.

ii.Jospeh Perkins b. 14 Aug 1808 in Saratoga, Saratoga, New York

iii. Alonzo Perkins b. 17 Oct 1809 in Saratoga, New York; d. 11 Aug 1883 in Saratoga, Saratoga, New York; m1. Ann Myers; m2. Rebecca King (b. 1820 New York – Aft. 1880 census) In the 1850 census, Alonzo and Rebecca were farming in Stillwater, Saratoga, New York.

iv. George Perkins b. 26 Dec 1811 in Saratoga, Saratoga, New York; d. 7 Aug 1845; m. Margaret C. Wright (b. 1818 New York) In the 1850 census, Margaret was a widow living in Saratoga, Saratoga, New York with three children ages 8, 10 and 12.

v. Julia Ann Perkins b. 6 Jan 1813 in Saratoga, Saratoga, New York; d. Aft. 1870 census Wesley, Will, IL; m. Henry D. Childs (b. 1804 NY) In the 1850 census, Julia Ann and Henry were farming in Wilmington, Will, Illinois.

vi. Mary Griffin Perkins b. 26 Jul 1815 or 1819? in Saratoga, Saratoga, New York; m. 9 Oct 1839 to Schuyler Parshal (b. 27 Jul 1819 in Palmyra, New York – d. 28 Oct 1890 in Tuscumbia, Alabama) His parents were Nathan Parshall and Mary Ann Galloway. In the 1850 census, Schuyler and Mary were living in Palmyra, Wayne, New York where Schuyler was a butcher. By the 1870 census, Schuyler had remarried to Mariah J [__?__] (b. 1830 NY) and was living in Courtland, Lawrence, Alabama.

vii. Emerline (Emmaline) Perkins b. 25 Dec 1817 in Saratoga, Saratoga, New York; d. 11 Sep 1876 or 1 Feb 1891 in La Salle, La Salle, Illinois; m. John Butler Read (Reed) (b. 04 Dec 1813 in Stillwater, Saratoga, New York – d. 30 Jul 1857 in La Salle, La Salle, Illinois) His parents were William Read (1756 – 1834) and Nancy Keys (1770 – 1823) In the 1860 census, Emeline was a widow farming in Farm Ridge, LaSalle, Illinois with five children at home.

viii. Laura Perkins b. 8 Apr 1822 in Saratoga, Saratoga, New York

ix. Hannah Jane Perkins b. 3 Jun 1824 in Saratoga, Saratoga, New York

x. Delia Perkins b.12 Apr 1826 in Saratoga, Saratoga, New York; d. 30 Apr 1844 in Saratoga, Saratoga, New York

xi. Andrew Perkins b. 1836; d. 21 Sep 1837 in Saratoga Springs, Saratoga, New York

xii. Caleb Perkins b. ? NY ?

xiii. Stephen Perkins b. ? NY ?

6. Gamaliel Perkins

Gamaliel’s first wife Lucy Sherman was born  13 May 1787. Lucy died 12 May 1839 in Saratoga County, NY. Gamaliel and Lucy had seven children.

Gaamaliel’s second wife Catharine Mulford was born 28 Apr 1800. Catherine died 09 Jul 1856 in Saratoga, New York.

In the 1850 census, Gamaliel and Catherine were farming in Saratoga, Saratoga County, New York.  All the children had grown and moved out of the house.

Gamaliel and his son Martin were involved in real estate transactions which became a legal case study called The Farmers’ Loan and Trust Co. v. Maltby.  In 1848,  Gamaliel purchased land in Fort Edward, Washington County New York for his son Martin.  In 1850, Martin forged a deed and filed it and took out a mortgage for $1,000.  In 1859, Gamaliel  conveyed the lands to Martin B. Perkins and the  deed was recorded January 14, 1860.   In 1867,  Martin B. Perkins sold the land to the plaintiff, without having any actual notice or suspicion of the existence of the mortgage.  In  1868, the loan commissioners of Washington county commenced a statute foreclosure of said mortgage by advertisement, and this action was brought to restrain said foreclosure, and to have said mortgage decreed void as against the plaintiff. The plaintiffs lost and the court ruled that the earlier irregularities were not material to the mortgage.  I guess there was no title insurance in those days.

An action The Farmers’ Loan and Trust Co. v. Maltby, was brought to restain the foreclosure of a mortgage executed by Martin B. Perkins and his wife, on the 1st day of October, 1850, to secure the loan of $1000 that day made by the then loan commissioners to said Martin, and to have the judgment of the court that said mortgage is not a lien upou said premises against the grantees and assigns of Martin B. Perkins, the mortgagor.

The action was commenced January 23, 1869, in Washington county, and tried before Justice Bockes, at a special term, on a conceded state of facts, which facts were as Tefft r. Munson.

follows: On the 18th day of January, 1848, one Gamaliel Perkins purchased of Cortland Howland certain lands in the town of Fort Edward, in said county of Washington, and took a conveyance thereof to himself, with covenant of warranty, and let his son, Martin B.Perkins, into the possession thereof. Said deed was duly recorded March 7, 1848. On the 18th day of January, 1848, and while said Gamaliel Perkins had title to said lands, said Martin B. Perkins, being then in possession thereof, forged a deed of said lands, purporting to convey the title from said Gamaliel Perkins to said Martin B. Perkins, and recorded said deed in the clerk’s office of Washington county, May 27, 1850. On the 1st day of October, 1850, while the title to said lands was still in Gamaliel Perkins, said Martin B. Perkins (being then in the possession thereof) executed a mortgage of said lands to the loan commissioners of Washington county, for $1000, for money then loaned him by said loan commissioners, which mortgage was in the usual form, and contained the following covenant: “And at the time of sealing and delivering of these presents, the said Martin B. Perkins, and Emily his wife, are lawfully seised of the above bargained premises, of a good, sure, perfect, absolute and indefeasible estate of inheritance, and the same now are free and clear of and from all former and other gifts, grants, bargains, sales, liens, judgments, recognizances, dowers, rights of dower and other incumbrances whatsoever; and also, that the above bargained premises, upon the sale thereof pursuant to the directions of the said act, will yield the principal and interest aforesaid remaining unpaid at the time of such sale, and until the first Tuesday of October next after such sale, together with the charges of such sale.”

Annual interest was paid and indorsed upon said mortgage, regularly, up to and including October, 1866, and one payment of $70 and interest was made and indorsed thereon, January 16, 1868.

The mortgage, at the time it was executed, was duly entered, as at the date thereof, upon the said loan commissioners’ books, kept and provided for that purpose, as required by the statute of 1837, and the amendments thereto, and the said books were duly deposited and kept in the office of the clerk of Washington county, and properly indexed as required by law. On the 23d day of January, 1860, a deed of said lands, bearing date April 1, 1853, was recorded in the county clerk’s office, which deed purported to be executed by Martin B.Perkins and wife to Gamaliel Perkins. On the 16th day of December, 1859, Gamaliel Perkins conveyed said lands to Martin B. Perkins,by warranty deed, which deed was duly recorded January 14, 1860. Gamaliel Perkins held the title to said lands continuously, from the 18th day of January, 1848, to the 16th day of December, 1859, and he had no knowledge of the existence of the mortgage, or of any of the deeds to or from Martin B. Perkins, except the deed of December 16, 1859, and Martin B. Perkins had no title to said land until said 16th day of December, 1859. On the 31st day of January, 1867, Martin B. Perkins, who still remained in possession of said lands, sold and conveyed the same, by deed of warranty of that date, to the plaintiff, who paid full value therefor, and went into possession of the same, without having any actual notice or suspicion of the existence of said mortgage, or any notice of the same whatever, except such constructive notice as the law may have compelled him to take (if any) by reason of the recording thereof, as aforesaid; and the plaintiff has ever since remained in possession of said premises. Said deed to the plaintiff was duly recorded February 9, 1867. Whatever interest was paid on said mortgage, at any time, with the knowledge or assent of the plaintiff, was paid under protest of the plaintiff, and under an arrangement made by him with said loan commissioners, to the effect that the plaintiff should have time to investigate the matter, and decide upon the course to be pursued by him, and that any payment of interest so made should not affect the plaintiff’s rights, or operate to his prejudice.

On the 28th day of October, 1868, the loan commissioners of Washington county commenced a statute foreclosure of said mortgage by advertisement, and this action was brought to restrain said foreclosure, and to have said mortgage decreed void as against the plaintiff.

The court, after hearing the matter, dismissed the complaint, with costs, and awarded judgment accordingly. And the judge found the following conclusions of law:

1st . That by reason of the conveyance of the lands and premises to Martin B. Perkins, and of the covenants contained in the mortgage executed by him to the loan commissioners, such mortgage became operative as a mortgage upon said lands and premises, notwithstanding its execution prior to the time when he acquired title to the mortgaged property.

2d. That the plaintiff occupies no better position, as regards the mortgage or lien thereof upou the mortgaged property, than did his grantor, Martin B. Perkins.

3d. That the plaintiff is not entitled to the relief demanded in the complaint.

To each of these conclusions the plaintiff duly excepted. From the judgment entered upon these findings and conclusions, the plaintiff appealed to this court.

Boies & Thomas, for the plaintiff.

Potter, Tanner & Potter, for the defendants.

By the Court, P. Potter, J. By the act of 1837, under which the mortgage in question was given, the books of the loan commissioners, kept in the clerks’ offices, containing the entry of such mortgages, are made of the same effect, as to priority of liens, and as to their operation and effect, as if such mortgages had been duly recorded in the book of mortgages in the office of the county clerk of the count}- in which such mortgaged premises are situate.

By the recording act, (1 R. S. 756, § 1,) “every conveyance of real estate is required to be recorded in the office of the clerk of the county where such real estate shall be situated; and by the 38th section of the same act, the term ‘conveyance’ embraces every instrument in writing by which any estate or interest in real estate is created, aliened, mortgaged or assigned, or by which the title to any real estate may be affected in law or equity.

In various cases, found in the books, it has been held that the registry, and the recording, of a mortgage, under the provisions of the statutes making it a duty so to register or record them, is notice to all subsequent purchasers and mortgagees, of the lien created thereby. (Frost v. Beehnan. John. Ch. 298. Parkist v. Alexander. Id. 398, 399. Johnson v. Stagg. John. 510. Brinekerhof v.Lansing, 4 John. Ch. 69. Williams v. Birbeck. Hoffman s Ch. R. 369, jfc.)

I think the case before us must be controlled by- the effect of the covenants in the mortgage given to the defendants, and of the recording acts in this state. 1. The conveyance by mortgage to the defendants was with warranty, and covenant “that Martin B. Perkins and his wife were lawfully seised of the premises of a good, sure, perfect, absolute and indefeasible estate of inheritance, and that the same were free and clear of, and from, all former and other gifts, grants, bargains, sales, liens, judgments, recognizances, dower, rights of dower and other incumbrances whatsoever.” Then the conceded rule of law is, that where a grantor, even has no title to the premises so conveyed with warranty, if he subsequently acquires an estate therein, such acquired estate will enure to the benefit of the grantee; if not by estoppel, it will upon the principle of avoiding circuity of action. Such a case is distinguished from the ancient conveyance by feoffment with livery of seisin, now fallen into disuse in England, and not applicable here, under our system; so too it is distinguished from mere grants, by deeds poll and quit-claim. A mere grant operates upon the possession; it simply conveys the estate and interest which the grantor had in the premises granted. If the grantor had no estate, it is obvious that there was no estate to be accepted; so that in the conveyance by grant only of lands, by deed or mortgage, the grantee is not estopped to aver that his grantor had nothing in the lauds granted. (Sparrotv v. Kingman, N. Y. 252, <&c.) But the rule is different where the conveyance is by warranty. As was said by Marcy, J., in Jackson v. Bradford, (4 Wend. 622,) “the warranty will rebut and bar the grantor and his heirs of a future right. This is not because a title ever passes by such a grant, but the principle of avoiding circuity of action interposes and stops the grantor from impeaching a title to the soundness of which he must answer, on his warranty.” (Co. Litt. 265, a. 14 John. 194. Averill v. Wilson, Barb. 187.) This warranty in the mortgage clearly estopped the grantor, Martin B. Perkins; and if the grantor or any one uing title from him, subsequent to such grant, seeks to recover the premises by virtue of such after-acquired title, the original grantee, or his heirs or assigns, by virtue of the warranty, may plead such warranty by way of rebutter or estoppel, as a bar to the claim. (Bank of Utica v. Mersereau, Barb. Ch. 567, 568.) Chancellor Walworth in that case said: “This principle has been applied to all suits brought by persons bound by the warranty, or estoppel, against the grantee or his heirs and assigns, so as to give the grantee and those claiming under him the same right to the premises, as if the subsequently acquired title or interest therein had been actually vested in the grantor at the time of the original conveyance from him with warranty, where the covenant of warranty was in full force at the time when such subsequent title was acquired by the grantor.” And where an estoppel runs with the land, it operates upon the title so as actually to alter the interest in it in the hands of the heirs or assigns of the person bound by the estoppel, as well as in the hands of such person himself.

This principle seems to be founded in equity and justice, as well as in the policy of the law, and applies equally to a case of covenants of warranty in a mortgage, as to those in a deed absolute.

In this view of the case, the question is simple. The mortgage in question is an instrument within the recording acts. Although Martin B. Perkins, at the date of its execution, had no title to the premises, yet while he was in possession of them, and while his covenant of warranty was in full force, he became vested with the title in fee. This title enured to the benefit of the defendants by virtue of the warranty, by well established principles of common law. As between Martin B. Perkins and the defendants, this interest in the latter, in the lands, became as perfect as if the mortgage had been executed by Perkins after the date of his title. Bid the defendants lose this interest, by Perkins’ conveyance to the plaintiffs? I think not.

Children of Gamaliel and Lucy:

i. Emily Perkins b. 07 Mar. 1810 in Saratoga County, NY; d. 07 May 1824 in Saratoga, New York

ii. Clark Perkins b. Mar 1811 in Saratoga, New York; m. Jane [__?__] (b. 1815 NY) In the 1870 census, Clark and Jane were farming in Saratoga, Saratoga, New York.

iii. Lewis T. Perkins b. Oct. 1813 in Saratoga, New York; d. 24 Jul 1881 Stillwater, Saratoga, New York; m. Sarah Barber (b. 10 July 1816 in New York – d. 5 Dec 1911) In the 1860 census, Lewis and Sarah were farming in Stillwater, Saratoga, New York. Sarah’s mother Patience (b. 1782 New York) was living with the familyu.

iv. Martin B. Perkins b. 1815 in Saratoga, New York; d. abt 1872 in Indiana; m. Emily Swan (b. 1820 in New York – d. 23 Sep 1912 in Riverdale-on-Hudson, Bronx, New York) In the 1860 census, Martin and Emily lived in Schuylerville, Saratoga, New York where Martin was a jeweler (silversmith).

v. Harriet E. Perkins b. 1 Dec. 1817 in Saratoga, New York ; m. 14 Oct 1860 Mr Griffin and Harriet Perkins were at the brides Fathers old Saratoga

vi. Caroline E. Perkins b. 21 Aug 1821 in Saratoga, New York

vii. James A. Perkins b. 8 Mar. 1831 in Saratoga, New York; d. 08 Mar. 1831 in Saratoga, New York

Sources:

“BRANCHES & ROOTS of OLIVER PERKINS: A Genealogical Study of his Ancestry, his Descendants and their Allied Families.” By: Steven G. Perkins, Gateway Press, Inc., Baltimore, MD Ê(1999). DPR Library of Congress Catalog Card Number 99-71471

http://trees.ancestry.com/tree/9603012/person/-750438751

http://search.ancestry.com/Browse/BookView.aspx?dbid=16551&iid=dvm_LocHist004228-00057-0

http://saratoganygenweb.com/conklin.htm

Reports of cases in law and equity in the Supreme Court of the …, Volume 63 By Oliver Lorenzo Barbour, New York (State).

http://archiver.rootsweb.ancestry.com/th/read/PERKINS/2007-10/1193405894

Posted in -8th Generation, Line - Shaw, Missing Parents | Tagged , | 4 Comments

Hendrick Hendrickse Van Gouts

Hendrick HENDRICKSE Van Gouts (1598 – 1639 ) was Alex’s 11th Grandfather; one of 4,096 in this generation of the Shaw line.

Hendrick Hendrickse Van Gouts was born about 1598  in Zeltbommel, Gelderland, Netherlands.  He married Kiis [__?__].  He was believed to be in the group that opened Fort Orange, but families didn’t begin arriving until late 1624. He was an accountant with the West India Company; worked in Brazil during 1630s  Hendrick died about 1639 in Fort Orange (Now Albany), New Netherlands.

Zeltbommel, Gelderland, Netherlands

Zeltbommel, Gelderland, Netherlands

Kiis [__?__] was born about 1608 in the Netherlands.

Children of Hendrick and Kiis:

Name Born Married Departed
1. Margriet HENDRICKS c. 1622 Holland Mathijs Jansen Van KEULEN
c. 1640
Recife, Brazil
.
Thomas “Clapboard” Chambers, the “lord of the Manor of Foxhall” at Kingston, NY.
1703
Kingston, NY
2. Willem Hendrickse c. 1620
Holland

Hendrick Hendrickse Van Gouts sponsored a baptism in 1637 for a Willem Hendricks, and a Margriet Hendricks was also a sponsor. From this and other evidence it is believed that Hendrick Hendrickse Van Gouts was the father of the Margriet Hendrickse that married Mathijs Van Keulen.

Children

2. Willem Hendrickse

Willem is found listed on the July 1639 manifest of the West Indies Raven (Harbor manifest, Court of New Amsterdam) that travelled from Recife, Brazil to New Amsterdam, New York. Along with him is his future brother-in-law Mathijs Jansen Van KEULEN.

Sources:

http://www.our-genealogy.com/bettes/ancestry-van-keuren/hendrick-hendrickse-van-gouts.html

http://genforum.genealogy.com/jansen/messages/260.html

Posted in 13th Generation, Immigrant - Continent, Line - Shaw | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Hendrick Alberts

Hendrick ALBERTS (1613 – 1649) was Alex’s 10th Grandfather; one of 2,048 in this generation of the Shaw line.

Hendrick Alberts was born 1613 in London, England. He married Geertruyd Andrissen Van DOESBURGH in 1640 in Holland, Reusel-de Mierden, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands. They emigrated in 1642. The Den Houttuyn left Texel Holland 6 Jun 1642 and arrived New Amsterdam 11 Aug 1642.   Geertruyd’s younger brother Hendrick accompanied the couple on the trip.   Hendrick died 1649 in Albany, NY.

Geertruyd Andrissen (Geertruijt Dries) Van Doesburgh (Doesbruch) was born 1619 in Doesburg, Gelderland, Netherlands.  Her parents were NOT Andries LUYCASZEN and Jannetje SEBYNS (See discussion below). After Hendrick died, she married Jacob Janszen Stol and had one child, Jan Jacobsen Stol, born 1658, Esopus, NY. Finally, after Jan did, she married Aard Martenz Dooren in Oct 1659.   Geertruyd died 1679 in Kingston, NY.

Jacob Janszen Stol was born 1610 in Holland and died in Oct 1659 in Esopus, NY.

Aard Martenz Dooren was born in Well, Glederland, Netherlands.

Children of Hendrick and Geertruyd:

Name Born Married Departed
1. Engeltje Hendricks 1645
Fort Orange, Albany, NY
Frederick Pietersen Maurits
27 Jan 1666
Kingston, NY
1672
Fort Orange, Albany, NY
2. Peer Jan HENDRICKS c. 1638  or 1645
Fort Orange, New York
Annetje Matthyssen Jansen Van KEUREN
11 Mar 1667/1668 in the Kingston Dutch Reformed Church. She took the name Annetje Hendrickse.
22 Mar 1707/08 Kingston NY

Many sources show Geertruyd’s parents to be Andries Luycaszen and Jannetje Sebyns. However Andries was from Fredrickstad, Ostfold, Norway, not Doesburgh. His first son, Jan Andriesen was born in Fredrickstad in 1625.  It seems unlikely that they were Geertruyd’s parents.

Gertruy Andriesen the real daughter of Andries Luycaszen and Jannetje Sebyns.

The Den Houttuyn left Texel Holland 6 Jun 1642 and arrived New Amsterdam 11 Aug 1642. Kiliaen van Rensselaer wrote the names in a memo to Domine Johannes Megapolensis dated 3 June 1642.

-De [Domine] Johanned Megapolensis, Machtelt Willems, his wife, Hillegont, Dirrick, Jan and Samuel, their children. Abraham Staes, surgeon, his servant, Evert PELS, [another of our ancestors ] beer brewer, his wife, his servant Cornelis Lambertsen van doorn. Hendrick Albertsz van Londen, 29 years old, Geertruijt Dries [Andries] van Doesburch, his wife, 23 years old, hendrick dries [Andries], 21 years old, her brother. Jochim Kettelheun,  Johan Helms van Barlt, Johan Carstensen van Barlt, Juriaen Bestvael van Luijderdorp, Claes Jansen van Waelwijck, Paulus Jansen van Geertruijdenbergh, Hans vos van Badens, Juriaen Pauwelsen van Sleswyck.–

Children

1. Engeltje Hendricks

Engeltje’s husband Frederick Pietersen Mouritz was born 1641 in Ulster, Ulster, New York. His parents were Pieter Maurits and [__?__]. Frederick died 30 May 1709 in New York City, Kings, New York.

Probate Records in the Office of Surrogate County Clerk’s Office at Kingston:
Fredrick Pietersen Mouritz of Marbletown dated 5/30/1709 written in Dutch:
Excerpts:
myn huysvrouw Engeltie
myn outse Soon Pieter
myn seven kinders mett naamen Pieter, Jannetie, Mourits, Engeltie, Oeyke, Geertruy, ende Elisabeth
Transciption of a portion: My wife E (Engeltie) shall possess and remain in possession of my whole Estate during her life, on condition that if she should marry it shall go to my heirs named below.  My eldest son P (Pieter) 30 schepels of winter wheat, his right of primogenitur.  To my 7 children, P (Pieter), J (Jannetie), M(Mourits) E(Engeltie), O(Oeyke), G(Geertruy) and E(Elisabeth) my entire Estate to be equally divided among them with the exception of the schepels of wheat given to P (Pieter).  Wife appointed Executrix.  Signed by the Testator.
Hendrick Boggart (his mark), Jans Middagh, Joris Middagh, William Nottingham appeared before the Court on 5/30/1709 prooving the Will.
Added by the transcriber is the following information:
“Frederick Pietersen (Mourits) m Engeltje Hendrick” (all records below are in the Dutch Church of Ulster, NY)

2. Peer Jan HENDRICKS (See his page)

Sources:

http://trees.ancestry.com/owt/person.aspx?pid=1344104

http://wc.rootsweb.ancestry.com/cgi-bin/igm.cgi?op=REG&db=mcramer65&id=P3407892408

http://familytreemaker.genealogy.com/users/u/n/w/Jay-P-Unwin/WEBSITE-0001/UHP-0681.html

http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~luke/Luycaszen,_Andries.html

http://w-westfall.tripod.com/c.html

Posted in 12th Generation, Immigrant - Continent, Line - Shaw | Tagged , | 3 Comments

Mathijs Jansen Van Keulen

Mathijs Jansen Van KEULEN (1602 -1648) was Alex’s 10th Grandfather; one of 2,048 in this generation of the Shaw line.

Van Kuelen Coat of Arms – As a part of the creation of the Zwaanendal Colony, Matthys was “granted the armorial bearings of an earl”.

Mathijs  (Matthys) Jansen Van Keulen (Ceulen) was born  during a family trip to London and was baptized on 2 Feb 1601/02 in the Austin Friars Dutch Reformed Church in London, England. His parents were both from the Netherlands; Jan Mathijs Van KEULEN and Annetje JANS. His Residence before 1639 was Recife, Brazil. He Immigrated in Jun 1639 to New Amsterdam and married  Margriet HENDRICKSE about 1640 in New Amsterdam.  Mathijs died on 16 Oct 1648 in Fort Orange, NY.

Mathijs was baptized in the Austin Friars Dutch Reformed Church in London, England, said to be the oldest Dutch language Protestant church in the world.

Margriet (Margarita) Hendrickse was born about 1622 in The Netherlands. Her parents were Hendrick HENDRICKS Van Gouts and Kiis [__?__].  After Matijs died,  Margariet married again before 16 Dec 1648 to Capt. Thomas “Clapboard” Chambers, the “lord of the Manor of Foxhall” at Kingston, NY.

Margriet Hendricks died about 1675, and her second husband Thomas Chambers married a second time to Laurentin Kellenaer, Widow of Dom. Van Gaasbeeck in 1681, who had children by her previous marriage. Thomas and Laurentia had no children together; he died and Laurentia married Wessel Ten Broeck in September 1694. She died in 1703 and Wessel in 1704.

Children of Mathij and Margriet:

Name Born Married Departed
1. Catryntje (Katryn) Matthyssen 1640
Fort Orange (Albany), NY
Jan Jansen Van Amesfoort
3 Oct 1660
Kingston Dutch Reformed Church.
c. 1678
2. Annetje Matthyssen (Mattesen) Jansen Van KEUREN 1645
Fort Orange, NY
PEER Jan Hendricks
11 Mar 1667/1668 Kingston Dutch Reformed Church
3 Feb 1722
Kingston, NY
3. Jan Matthyssen Jansen 1646
Fort Orange, NY
Magdalena Blanchan
28 Sep  1667
Kingston Dutch Reformed Church
Nov 1727
Kingston
4. Capt. Matthys Matthyssen 1648
Fort Orange, NY
Tjatte Charity DeWitt (Rescued from Indians by PEER Jan Hendricks)
1677
Kingston, NY
1730
Kingston

Van Cuelen Coat of Arms — Courtesy http://www.angelfire.com/id/vancuren/home.html

This is the Coat of arms used by the van Ceulens/van Keulens living in Amsterdam in the early 1600s, and believed to be the one described by the Dutch West Indies Charter, which empowered the Lord-Director Mathij Jansen van Ceulen with the “ARMORIAL BEARINGS OF AN EARL”. The family had a close association with the prince of Orange, who, technically, was the authority behind the colonization of New Netherlandt. The top left quarter is a red background behind a gold crown of five florets(alludes to family wealth). The bottom left quarter is a black background behind a golden cask(black for fur lined robes of Nobility, and the family were also wine merchants). The right half is a gold background behind a red rampant lion, pawing the air(denotes courage and intellect in loyal service to the crown). Mathij van Ceulen had four children. His sons, Matthys and Jan are progenitors of the Van Keuren(also spelled Van Kuren and Van Curen) and Jansen(also Jonson, Johnson) families in America. The daughters, Katryn and Annetje became the maternal progenitors of the Van Steenberghen(also Van Steenbergh, Steenbergh) and Peersen(also Person, Pearson) families.

The first Van Keuren in America was Matthys Jansen van Keulen, the Patroon of Zwaanendal. (The name was sometimes also spelled “Ceulen”.) He was a young lord-directors of the Dutch West Indies Company (GWC), which bought Manhattan Island from the Indians.

Like the VOC, the company had five offices, called chambers (kamers), in AmsterdamRotterdamHoornMiddelburg and Groningen, of which the chambers in Amsterdam and Middelburg contributed most to the company. The board consisted of 19 members, known as the Heeren XIX (the Lords Nineteen).  The company was initially relatively successful; in the 1620s and 1630s, many trade posts or colonies were established.

This association was divided in four chambers for convenience, established in different cities of the Netherlands, the managers of which were called Lord-Directors. Of these, Amsterdam was the most important, and to this Chamber was entrusted the management of the New Netherlands. Of the 19 delegates who constituted the board of managers, Amsterdam furnished nine. Each director had to have 6000 Guilders of his own money invested in the company, and his pay was one percent commissions on the outfit and returns, and prizes, with one half percent on the gold and silver. Commissions on prizes were an important part of a managers fees, as on Sep 9th, 1628, Admiral Pieter Pietersen Heyn proceeded to the West Indies, and captured the Mantanzas, the entire spanish plate fleet, with cargos valued at 5,000,000 Guilders.

Amoung the names of these Lord-Directors who served the company from the Chamber at Amsterdam, we find five who are designated as Principal Partner Directors. These are Pieter Ranst, Carel Looten, Jehan Raye, Killaen Van Rensselaer, and Matthys Van Ceulen. On the 16th of Oct, 1630, Van Rensselaer, Bloomer, deLaet, Van Ceulen, Hendrick Hamel, and other directors formed an association for planting a colony on the South Delaware River. Equalizing all expected advantages, they equipped a ship and a yacht for that quarter, where they designed to raise tobacco, and grain, and to prosecute the whaling industry.

In the meantime, such had been the activity of the agents employed by the Patroons to purchase their colonies, that the titles from the Indians were laid, duly authenticated, by the Director-General and the council at Fort Amsterdam, before the Assembly of 19, on Nov 28 of 1630, when the new Patroons received the congratulations of the other Directors of the company. The formal registration of the Patens followed a few days afterward and on Dec 2, 1630, they were sealed with the seal of New Netherland. Fourteen days after, complete lists of the several Patroonships were delivered to the companies solicitor, and the whole transactions were unanimously confirmed by the Assembly of 19, at the meeting of that body in Zeeland, in the beginning of the following Year (Jan 8, 1631)

3 June 1621- Mathijs, at the age of 20, signed the Dutch West India Charter  as a Principal Partner, Lord-Director. Under the Charter Agreement, the Principal Partners were “empowered with the Armorial Bearing of an Earl” The newly incorporated Dutch West India Company (Geoctroyeerde Westindische Compagnie or GWC) obtained a twenty four year trading monopoly in America and Africa and sought to have the New Netherland area formally recognized as a province.

It looks like Matthys got in on the ground floor of a good thing.  I haven’t figured out how he managed this appointment at such a young age as I haven’t found any evidence his parents were wealthy or connected to power.

When we read of the Dutch West India Company in school, it is generally portrayed as a trading company, securing raw materials from the New World for Dutch Manufaturing. In reality, 75% of the company’s profit in the first 10 years was from the pirating of Spanish and Portugese cargo ships. One such, the capture of the Spanish Plate Fleet in September of 1628, yielded a ‘take’ of some $5,000,000 worth of gold, silver, and trade goods. The “trading” fleet of the West Indies company in 1631 consisted of 14 new warships (32 cannon each) and 7 fully armed Yachts (17 cannon each).

Mathijs was payed on commission, 1% of trade and 1/2% of new gold/silver. He received a commission of 50,000 guilders on a cargoe that Admiral Piet Heyn relieved from the Spanish Plate Fleet, which he caught in the mid Atlantic, the largest success for the GWC in its history. Privateering was at first the most profitable activity.

Nautical chart of Zwaanendael, 1639

1631 – Mathijs and Killaen van Rennsalaer were given Patroonship of Zwaanendael Colony (Swan Valley, a 12 mile stretch of the Delaware River.  (See details below)

In the United States, a patroon (from Dutch patroon, owner or head of a company) was a landholder with manorial rights to large tracts of land in the 17th century Dutch colony of New Netherland in North America.  Through the Charter of Freedoms and Exemptions of 1629, the Dutch West India Company first started to grant this title and land to some of its invested members. These inducements to foster immigration (also known as the “Rights and Exemptions”), are the basis for the patroon system.

The deeded tracts were called patroonships and could span 16 miles in length on one side of a major river, or 8 miles if spanning both sides. In 1640 the charter was revised to cut new plot sizes in half, and to allow any Dutch American in good standing to purchase an estate.

The title of patroon came with powerful rights and privileges, similar to a lord in the feudal period. A patroon could create civil and criminal courts, appoint local officials and hold land in perpetuity. In return, he was commissioned by the Dutch West India Company to establish a settlement of at least 50 families within four years on the land. Astenants working for the patroon, these first settlers were relieved of the duty of public taxes for ten years, but were required to pay the patroon in money, goods, or services in kind. A patroonship had its own village and other infrastructure, including churches which recorded births, baptisms, and marriages.

5 Oct 1632 – He sailed From Texel to Reciffe, Brazil

5 Dec 1632  – He landed at Reciffe, aboard Schip de Fama (Faith)

15 Dec 1632 – He assumed Command of the Brazil armed Forces.  His decisive victory in 1633 secured his standing in The Netherlands.  Some documents mention him helping defend the Dutch forts on the coast of Brazil. One fort was named Van Keuren Fort.

Feb 1633 – The fort on the Rio Formoso was conquered by the Dutch

Mar 1633  – The “arraial” of Afogados was also conquered and a fort was built there.

Jun 1633  – The island of Itamaracá was occupied and a settlement was found there

Itamaracá

Dec 1633 – Mathijs captured the Fort of Reis Magos (Dutch Fort Ceulen) at the mouth of the Rio Grande.  He renamed the fort after himself as “Ceulens Foort”.   Forte de Reis Magos, or Three Wise Men Fort, stands at the mouth of the Potengi River, separated from Natal by a sand bar that is covered by high tides. Construction of the fort started on 6 Jan 1598, a day when Catholic Portugal celebrated Epiphany, hence the name.  Construction of the fort preceded the foundation of Natal (“Christmas”), on 25 Dec 1599.   In 1633, the fort was taken by Mathijs’ Dutch forces who invaded northeastern Brazil.  It was recovered by the Portuguese colonizers in 1654.  Natal today is a city of 800,000 inhabitants and is one of the host cities of the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Forte de Reis Magos (Ceulen’s Foort 1633 – 1654)

Sep 1634 – Mathijs returned to Amsterdam, where his name is found almost daily in the records of the Amsterdam Camer, Dutch West Indische Compagnie.

1636 – Mathijs was appointed to the Hooghen Secreten Raad (High and Secret Council) and became a co-Governor of the Dutch South American Holdings, under a 5 year contract.

20 Nov 1636 –  Mathijs left Texel Island for Recife to take his place on “Hoogh Secreeten Raad”(the South American Governing Council).

Dutch Brazil, also known as New Holland, was the northern portion of Brazil, ruled by the Dutch during the Dutch colonization of the Americas between 1630 and 1654. The term ‘New Holland’ should not be confused with the later term for present-day Western Australia.

From 1630 onward, the Dutch Republic came to control almost half of Brazil, with their capital in Recife. The Dutch West India Company (GWC) set up their headquarters in Recife. The governor, Johan Maurits, invited artists and scientists to the colony to help promote Brazil and increase immigration.

Mauritsstad (or Mauritiopolis) was the capital of Dutch Brazil, and is now a part of the Brazilian city of Recife. The city was built on the island of Antonio Vaz opposite Recife, and designed by architect Pieter Post. It was named after Governor Johan Maurits van Nassau-Siegen, who had founded the city and palace Vrijburgh. Mauritsstad was the cultural center of the New World, with the first botanical garden and the first zoo in America, and a museum with three hundred stuffed monkeys. The city’s Jewish population constructed the first American synagogue.

The GWC gained control of Olinda by 16 Feb 1630, and Recife and António Vaz by 3 Mar.  Matias de Albuquerque, the Portuguese governor, led a strong Portuguese resistance which hindered the Dutch from developing their forts on the lands which they had captured. By 1631, the Dutch left Olinda and tried to gain control of the Fort of Cabedello on Paraíba, the Rio Grande, Rio Formoso, and Cabo de Santo Agostinho. These attempts were also unsuccessful.

Still in control of António Vaz and Recife, the Dutch later gained a foothold at Cabo Santo Agostinho.  (Maybe this was Matthys’ battle) However, after the Portuguese regained Porto Calvo, the GWC gave control of Nieuw Holland to Johan Maurits van Nassau-Siegen due to the great advantage the Portuguese had over the Dutch by controlling Porto Calvo. By 1634 the Dutch controlled from the coastline of the Rio Grande do Norte to Pernambuco’s Cabo de Santo Agostinho. They still maintained control of the seas as well. By 1635 many Portuguese settlers were choosing Dutch-occupied land over Portuguese-controlled land. The Dutch offered freedom of worship and security of property.

July 1639 – Mathijs is found listed on the manifest of the West Indies Raven (Harbor manifest, Court of New Amsterdam) that travelled from Recife, Brazil to New Amsterdam, New York. Along with him is Willem Hendrickse, brother of Margriet Hendrickse. They are believed to be children of Hendrick HENDRICKSE Van Gouts, a company accountant.

Aug 1639 – Mathijs is recorded on the land of brother, Conraet Jansen van Ceulen (aka van Keulen) in North Harlem…a plot called “Keulens Hook”(History of Harlem).

Van Keulen’s Hook – In 1639, Conraet van Keulen secured a Patens for 100 Morgens at Otterspoor, renamed Van Keulens Hook. This being located between present day 108th and 125th Streets, along the River, in Harlem. He was also named as a Lessor on a parcel called Bestevears Kreupelbosch(Leather Swamp) in a document dated 14 December, 1640.    – Mathijs Jansen van Ceulen received a land Patens for 50 Morgens of land at the North East tip of Manhattan Island in August, 1646, which was named Van Keulens Bouwerie. Today that land is occupied by Columbia University, Bakers field, and lands to the East of route 9. Route 9 is approxiamitely where the ferry to the mainland was located in the 1600s.

By Oct 1639 – Mathijs returned to Recife.   Mathijs and Margriet appear numerous times in the records of the Recife DRC.

Jul 1641 – Mathijs term on the council was up, and he then moved to Fort Orange (Albany).

Back to the story of Zwaanendael 

Zwaanendael or Swaanendael,  a Dutch colonial settlement in Delaware,  was built in 1631. The name is archaic Dutch spelling for “swan valley”. The site of the settlement later became the town of Lewes, Delaware.

Zwaanendael Colony Location

On 6 Oct 1630 as a Lord-Director Principle Partner of the Dutch West Indies Charter from the beginning of the company, Matthys joined with Killaen Van Rennsalaer and others to introduce a tenant farming colony along the Delaware River. Numerous entries in Van Rennsalaer’s personal journals relate to Mathij Van Kulen.  Matthys traveled to America, possibly several times, around 1630-35, apparently with two of his brothers.  In America in about 1630, with about ten other investors, he helped found a colony which they named “Zwaanendal”,  Indians destroyed the colony a year later. It was rebuilt later on, and became the basis for the existence of Delaware as an independent state. As a part of the creation of the colony, Matthys was “granted the armorial bearings of an earl”. Matthys eventually settled around the Hudson River near what is now Kingston, NY.

Two directors of the Amsterdam chamber of the Dutch West India Company, Samuel Blommaert and Samuel Godyn, bargained with the natives for a tract of land reaching from Cape Henlopen to the mouth of Delaware River. This was in 1629, three years before the charter of Maryland, and is the oldest deed for land in Delaware. Its water-front nearly coincides with the coast of Kent and Sussex Counties. The purchase was ratified in 1630 by Peter Minuit and his council at Fort Amsterdam.

A company including, besides the two original proprietors, Kiliaen van Rensselaer (Patroon of Rensselaerswyck), Johannes De Laet (the geographer), and David Pietersen de Vries was formed to colonize the tract. A ship of eighteen guns was fitted out to bring over the colonists and subsequently defend the coast, with incidental whaling to help defray expenses. A colony of more than thirty people was planted on Lewes creek, a little north of Cape Henlopen, and its governorship was entrusted to Gillis Hosset. This settlement antedated by several years any in Pennsylvania, and the colony at Lewes practically laid the foundation and defined the singularly limited area of the state of Delaware, the major part of which was included in the purchase. A palisaded fort was built, with the “red lion, rampant,” of Holland affixed to its gate, and the country was named Swaanendael or Zwaanendael Colony, while the water was called Godyn’s bay. The estate was further extended, on 5 May 1630, by the purchase of a tract twelve miles square on the coast of Cape May opposite, and the transaction was duly attested at Fort Amsterdam.

The existence of the little colony was short, for the Indians came down upon it in revenge for an arbitrary act on the part of Hosset, and it was destroyed, with no Dutch escaping to tell the tale.  Our Matthys must have been elsewhere.  The details of the attack were recounted to Dutch observers by Nanticoke Indians:

“He then showed us the place where our people had set up a column to which was fastened a piece of tin, whereon the arms of Holland were painted. One of their chiefs took this off, for the purpose of making tobacco-pipes, not knowing that he was doing amiss. Those in command at the house made such an ado about it that the Indians, not knowing how it was, went away and slew the chief who had done it, and brought a token of the dead to the house to those in command, who told them that they wished that they had not done it; that they should have brought him to them, as they wished to have forbidden him not to do the like again. They went away, and the friends of the murdered chief incited their friends, as they are a people like the Indians, who are very revengeful, to set about the work of vengeance. Observing our people out of the house, each one at his work, that there was not more than one inside, who was lying sick, and a large mastiff, who was chained, – had he been loose they would not have dared to approach the house, – and the man who had command standing near the house, three of the stoutest Indians, who were to do the deed, bringing a lot of bear-skins with them to exchange, sought to enter the house. The man in charge went in with them to make the barter, which being done, he went to the loft where the stores lay, and in descending the stairs one of the Indians seized an axe and cleft his head so that he fell down dead. They also relieved the sick man of life, and shot into the dog, who was chained fast, and whom they most feared, twenty-five arrows before they could dispatch him. They then proceeded towards the rest of the men, who were at work, and, going amongst them with pretensions of friendship, struck them down. Thus was our young colony destroyed, causing us serious loss.”

In 1633, de Vries negotiated a treaty with the Indians and sailed up the Delaware River, attempting to trade for beans and corn. Failing his objective there, de Vries sailed to Virginia, where was successful in obtaining provisions for the colonists in Zwaanendael, to which he returned.

1635 – Mathij became the second Patroon of Zawaanendal in 1635, after the death of Sam Godyn. He arrived in New York between 1635 and 1638. His name appears on a shipping manifest of the West Indies Raven, 27 Jun, 1639. 2 of his brothers were crew aboard the Raven

Google Maps Satellite View  of Mathijis’ Haarlem Patent at the extreme northern tip of Manhattan Island

12 Aug 1646 – Mathijs  received a land Patens in Harlem, NY for 50 Morgens of land near Conraet’s land on Manhattan. This was known as Van Ceulens Bouwerie. The land today is located at the point where 9W crosses the Harlem River at Columbia University’s Baker’s Field.  I wonder what these 100 acres of land in Manhattan are worth today?    Said land was confirmed to his heirs, including Matthys Mathyssen, in 1667.

Here’s today’s Street View looking back from the 220th Street Bridge (Highway 9)

2 Jul 1667 – (page 665, Court records of New Netherlandt)

Land valuation and division of the patromonial estate of Mathijs Jansen van Keulen to his children. Case identifies land in the Esopus belonging to this estate, suggesting Mathijs had a land patens in the Esopus prior to his death in 1648. Matthys received: 20 Morgens of land (about 40 acres), previously owned by Evert PELS (our ancestor) , with house, barn and outbuildings, valued at 900 sch. Also, a horse identified as a grey stallionand a plow valued at 180 guilders. Matthys to pay his sister Anna 167 sch, 60 guilders, and 267 sch, 60 guilders to brother Jan, to equalize the shares. Notes the undivided land in the pappermemmins (Man Hats, Manhattan)”

Margriet’s second husband, Thomas Chambers, willed his coat of arms to his two stepsons, so the Van Keuren family has a second coat of arms in addition to an earlier coat of arms from Holland. The blazon for this second coat of arms is:

Argent, a chamber piece fesswise sable, fired proper (a small cannon pointed horizontally, black with colored fire coming out of it) There are two crests above the shield that have been associated with the coat of arms.  A demi-eagle displayed, per pale argent and sable, the heads counterchanged imperially crowned or (an eagle with only wings and two heads, colored silver and black in four quadrants, with a gold crown on each head)

15 Oct, 1648 -A court case between Margriet, listed as “widow of Mattys Jansz”, and Willem Jeuriansz was put over to the next court day.

22 Oct, 1648 – The director promises to “help the widow” recover the 50 florins owed her by Willem Juriaensz.

Chambers Coat of Arms — Courtesey http://www.angelfire.com/id/vancuren/

16 Dec 1648 – A court proceeding over 2 ankers of Brandy on that date showed Margriet married to Thomas Chambers showing Thomas as “husband and guardian of his wife”.

Margriet took Mathijs’ lands at Wildwyck after his death. She was one of the 17 original communicants at the Old Dutch Church, Kingston.  Mrs Van Keuren Chambers was one of the first settlers of Kingston, by virtue of an Indian deed dated 5 June 1652. A Dutch patent for 76 acres was issued to her by Gov. Peter Stuyvesant on 8 Nov, 1653.

Jan 1656 –  Margriet and Thomas were granted a house lot on wagon road outside Albany. The last record of Margriet and Thomas in Albany was July, 1656.

1656 – Suit was filed against “Margriet Clabborts” for beer and other liquors fetched at the tavern of Herman Bamboes. Clabborts, or Clapboard, was a commonly used reference for Thomas Chambers.

Either late 1656, or sometime during 1657, Thomas and Margriet moved to Esopus

First Esopus War

May 1658 – In a letter from Thomas Chambers to Governor Stuyvesant, he writes in substance:  “I saw that the Indians had an anker (ten-gallon keg) of brandy lying under a tree.  I tasted myself and found it was pure brandy.  About dusk they fired at and killed Harmen Jacobsen, who was standing in a yacht in the river; and during the night  they set fire to the house of  Jacob Adrijansa, and the people were compelled to flee for their lives.  Once before we were driven away and expelled from our property; as long as we are under the jurisdiction of the West India Company we ask your assistance, as Esopus could feed the whole of New Netherland.  I have informed myself among the Indians who killed Harmen, and they have promised to deliver the guilty party in bonds.  Please do not begin the war too suddenly, and not until we have constructed a stronghold for defense.”

Oct 1658 – Eight Esopus Indians broke off corn ears for Thomas Chambers. When they finished work the Indians said, “Come give us brandy.” Chambers replied, ” When it is dark.” When evening was come he gave a large bottle with brandy to the Indians. They retired to a place at no great distance from the fort and sat down to drink. The eight Indians drank there until midnight; by that time they were drunk, and they began to yell. At length the brandy came to an end. One Indian said, “Buy more brandy; we still have wampum.” The Indian who was afterwards killed went to Chambers‘ house to get more brandy. Chambers said, ” I have given you all I had.”

The Indian then went to where the soldiers were, taking with him the bottle which he hid under his cloak. “Have you any brandy?” said the Indian. “Yes, I have brandy,” answered a soldier. ” Here is wampum, give me brandy for it.” “What is wampum, and what can I do with it? where is your kettle?” said the soldier. “I have no kettle, but I have a bottle here under my cloak,” replied the Indian. The soldier filled the bottle, but would take nothing for the brandy.

The Indian came to his comrades who were lying about and crying, and asked them, “Why do you cry? I have brought brandy!” Whereupon they changed their cry, and asked if he had given all the wampum. “No, a soldier gave it to me.” They replied “that is very good,” and began to drink lustily from the bottle, because they had no goblet or ladle. When the bottle was passed around the Indians began to wrangle and fight. Two of them presently said to each other, “We have no cause to fight, let us go away;” so they went away, leaving six. After a little time one of the remaining Indians said, “Come let us go away; I feel that we shall be killed.” Said the other, “You are crazy; who should kill us? We would not kill the Dutch, and have nothing to fear from them or the other Indians.” “Yes,” replied he, “but I nevertheless am so heavy-hearted.”

The bottle was passed twice, and the Indian said again, “Come, let us go; my heart is full of fears.” He went off and hid his goods in the bushes at a little distance. Coming back once more they heard the bushes crackle as the Dutch came there, without knowing who it was. Then this Indian went away, saying “Come, let us go, for we all shall be killed;” and the rest laid down together, whereupon the Dutch came and all of them fired into the Indians, shooting one in the head and capturing another. One drunken Indian was continually moving about, whereupon the Dutch fired upon him repeatedly, nearly taking his dress from his body.

Ensign Smith knew what the consequences of this outbreak would be, and he sought to ascertain who ordered the firing contrary to his express instructions. The Dutch cast all the blame on the Indians, saying that the latter fired first. The affairs of the colony being in such an unsatisfactory state, and finding the people would not respect his authority, Smith announced his intention of leaving for New Amsterdam next day. Great excitement was manifested when this became known. The people tried to dissuade him from his purpose by representing their exposed condition, and making assurances of future obedience on their part. Smith was intractable, and continued making preparations for his departure; but by an adroit measure of Stohl and Chambers, who hired all the boats in the neighborhood, he found himself unable to carry out his resolution. It was deemed expedient, however, to acquaint the Governor of the state of affairs, and accordingly Christopher Davis was dispatched down the river in a canoe for that purpose.

Davis was escorted to the river by a company of eight soldiers and ten citizens, under Sergeant Lawrentsen, Sept. 21st, 1659. On the return of the escort to the village they fell into an ambuscade near where now stands the City Hall; the Sergeant and thirteen men surrendered without firing a shot, the rest making their escape. War now began in earnest. More than five hundred Indians were in the vicinity of the fort, who kept up a constant skirmish with settlers. By means of firebrands they set fire to the House of Jacob Gebers; numbers of barracks, stacks and barns were in like manner destroyed. One day they made a desperate assault on the palisades which came near being successful. Failing in this, the Indians slaughtered all the horses, cattle and hogs they could find outside the defenses. Three weeks was a constant siege kept up so that “none dare go abroad.” Unable to take the town they vented their fury on the unfortunate prisoners.

Jacob Jansen Van Stoutenburgh, Abram Vosburg, a son of Cornelius B. Sleight, and five or six other were compelled to run the gauntlet; they were next tied to stakes, and, after being beaten and cut in the most cruel manner, were burned alive. Thomas Clapboard [Chambers], William the carpenter, Peter Hillebrants [son of Hildebrand PIETERSEN] and Evert PELS‘ son were among the captives.

These are the only names mentioned in the early records. Clapboard was taken by six warriors down the Esopus kill. At night he removed the cords by which he was bound, and successively knocked five of his captors in the head while they were asleep, killing the sixth before he could fly, and making good his escape. Another prisoner, a soldier, got home safely after a somewhat rough experience. Peter Laurentsen and Peter Hillebrants were ransomed; Hendrick Vosberg Pel, then a mere youth, was adopted into the tribe and married among them. Overtures were afterwards made to the Indians by the friends of the lad for his return; but the Indians answered that he “wished to stay with his squaw and pappoose, and he ought to.”

News of these events filled the whole colony with fear and forebodings. Stuyvesant had only six or seven soldiers in garrison at New Amsterdam, and they were sick and unqualified for duty. He then sent to Fort Orange and Rensselaerwyck for reinforcements; but the inhabitants of Fort Orange could not succor without leaving their own homes defenseless. The Governor asked for volunteers, offering Indians as prizes; only six or seven responded, lie then conscripted all the garrison at Amsterdam, the Company’s servants, the hands in his brewery and the clerks. The people made great opposition to this, averring that “they were not liable to go abroad and fight savages.”

Notwithstanding these hindrances Governor Stuyvesant set sail October 9th with about 160 men, and reached Esopus next day. Here he found the siege had been raised thirty-six hours before, and that the Indians had retreated to their homes whither the Governor’s troops could not follow them, for the country was then innundated with nearly a foot of water from the frequent rains.

In the spring of 1660, there was a renewal of hostilities; an Indian castle having been plundered, and several Indians taken captive, the Indians sued for peace and proposed an exchange of prisoners. Stuyvesant declined their overtures, and prosecuted the war with vigor, sending some of the captive chiefs, then in his hands, to Curaçao  as slaves to the Dutch.

The clans now held a council. Said Sewackenamo, the Esopus chief, “What will you do?” “We will fight no more,” said the warriors. “We wish to plant in peace,” replied the squaws. “We will kill no more hogs,” answered the young men.

Stuyvesant met their propositions with an extravagant demand for land. The fertile corn-planting grounds of the Walkill and Rondout valleys had excited the cupidity of the colonists. The Indians were loath to give up so much of their territory, but they finally acceded to the Governor’s demand. During the negotiations the Indians plead for the restoration of their enslaved chiefs. But in pursuance of Stuyvesant’s policy, those ancient sachems had become the chattels of Dutchmen, and were toiling, under the lash, in the maize and bean-fields among the islands of the far-off Caribbean Sea; so the Governor replied that they must be considered dead. Although deeply grieved at this, the chiefs agreed to the treaty, and departed.

Second Esopus War

Some acts of crimination and recrimination having occurred between the Dutch settlers of Kingston and Hurley and their Indian neighbors, growing out of a misunderstanding in regard to some lands, the feud finally terminated  the “Massacre at the Esopus.” To be more certain of success the Esopus clans endeavored to get the Wappinger Indians of Duchess, and other of the neighboring clans, to join them, and succeeded partially. To lull the suspicions of the whites, a proposition for a new treaty was made only two days before the attack.

7 Jun 1663 – A band of two hundred Indians entered Wildwyck and New Diep (now Kingston and Hurley) in the morning, from different points, and dispersed themselves among the dwellings in a friendly manner, having with them a little maize and a few beans; under pretense of selling these they went about from place to place to discover the strength of the men. After they had been in Kingston about a quarter of an hour, some people on horseback rushed through the mill-gate crying out-‘ “The Indians have destroyed the New Village!”  And with these words the Indians immediately fired their guns, and made a general attack on the village from the rear, hewing down the whites with their axes and tomahawks. They seized what women and children they could and carried them prisoners outside the gates, plundered the houses, and set the village on fire to windward, it blowing at the time from the south. The remaining Indians commanded all the streets, firing from the corner houses which they occupied, and through the curtains outside along the highways, so that some of the inhabitants while on their way to their houses to get their arms were wounded and slain. When the flames had reached their height the wind veered to the west, otherwise the flames would have been much more destructive.  The attack was so rapdi that those in different parts of the village were not aware of what was transpiring until they happened to meet the wounded in the streets. Few of the men were in the village, the rest being abroad at their field labors.

Capt. Thomas Chambers, who was wounded on coming in from the fields, issued immediate orders to secure the gates, to clear the gun and drive off the Indians, which was accordingly done. After the few men in the village had been collected, and by degrees others arriving from different quarters, being attracted by the columns of smoke and the firing, they mustered in the evening sixty-nine efficient men. The burnt palisades were immediately replaced with new ones, and the people distributed, during the night, along the bastions and curtains to keep watch.

In this attack on the two villages fifteen men, four women and two children were killed. Most of the women and children killed were burned to death. Of the prisoners taken by the Indians at this outbreak there were thirteen women, thirty children, and one man. At Kingston twelve houses were burned, while the New Village was entirely destroyed.

Soldiers including PEER Jan Hendricks  were now sent up from New York, and the Indians were hunted from mountain to mountain.  The rescued children included Tjerck Claessen en de Witt’s oldest daughter. (Mathijs Jansen Van KEULEN’s future daughter-in-law) Peer Jan Hendrick married Mathijs’ daughter Annetje.  See his  page for details about the rescue.

Among those killed was “Thomas Chambers’ negro murdered on the farm”

Three thousand guilders was taken from the estate of Mathijs Jansen van Ceulen were used to build the Original First Reformed Protestant Dutch Church of Kingston as it appeared before 1721

1663 – Three thousand guilders was taken from the estate of Mathijs Jansen van Ceulen at the direction of Margriet Hendrickse, for the building of the Dutch Reformed Church of Kingston.

2 Jul  1667 – The Court of New Amsterdam confirmed Van Ceulens Bouwerie to the heirs, Katryn, Annetje, Jan & Matthys, stepfather Thomas Chambers acting on their behalf.

Will of Thomas Chambers

THOMAS CHAMBERS. In the name of God, Amen, the 5 April, 1694. I, Thomas Chambers, Lord of the Manor of Fox Hall, in the County of Ulster, being sick in body. I leave to my wife’s daughter, Jacomintie Gaasbeck, and to her heirs and assigns, a certain tract of land, situate, lying and being in the Manor of Fox Hall, called and known by the name of Brandywynes Hoek, and likewise out of my estate herein bequeathed unto Abraham Gaasbeck Chambers, a corn mill is to be built for the use of her and her heirs, where I have already begun to make a dam. And all the water out of my meadow or Vly is to be drawn there to drive said mill. Also a free path to said mill and land. Also 2 acres of land to the southward of said dam, where it may be most convenient to build a house on.

I leave to my wife’s daughter, Maria Salisbury, and to her heirs and assigns, all that certain tract of land now in possession of Dirck Hendricks de Gayer, and commonly called and known by the name of Wiggwansinck.

I leave to my wife’s son Abraham Gaasbeck Chambers all my other estate, to wit, the Manor of Fox Hall, with all the appurtenances (except what is above bequeathed), likewise my mill and house at the Strand, with all that wood or upland as it is mentioned in my General Patent, for the Lordship of Fox Hall. And all the movable goods. My will is that the said estate shall be kept whole and entire, to the next heir of him the said Abraham Gaasbeck Chambers, (He and his heirs always using the surname of Chambers,) and to be entailed from generation to generation.

In default of male heirs the estate is to go to his eldest sister Jacyntie Gaasbeck, with this proviso, that she take the name of Chambers, and whoever marries her shall take the name of Chambers. If she should die without issue, then the estate is to go to her sister, Maria Salisbury, on the same conditions. My wife is to remain in full possession of all the estate until her son Abraham Gaasbeck Chambers is of age, and then she is to have the use of one half for life.

I will that Dirck Hendricks shall have the use of the tract of land called Wiggwansinck, he paying 65 scheppels of wheat yearly, as long as he or his wife lives. But if he goes off, then the house and barn are to be valued, and the value allowed to him.

I will that Cornelius Wouterse shall have maintenance during his life, out of my estate, likewise lodging, and whatever else is needful for a man of his quality. I leave to my wife Laurentia my house and lot in Kingston, for life, and then to her children. I appoint my wife Laurentia executor, and William De Meyer, of Kingston, to be her assistant. In testimony I have set my hand and seal in Fox Hall.

Witnesses, Henry Beekman, Wessell Ten Broeck, W. De Meyer. Sworn to by Colonel Henry Beekman, Captain Wessell Ten Broeck, Justice of the Peace, and Mr. William De Meyer, before Teunis Gorton, Judge of Common Pleas, May 18, 1694. Entered in Records of Ulster County, No. A, fol. 301-5 by me, W. De Meyer, Clerk. Proved before Governor Hunter, May 23, 1713, upon oath of Henry Beekman, the other witnesses being deceased, the original will being in the handwriting of William De Meyer, And Letters of administration are granted to Abraham Gaasbeck Chambers, the widow of Thomas Chambers having died without having proved the will.

Children

“Van Keuren” has no direct Dutch/German meaning, as it is a corruption of the original name, meaning “Of Cologne”. The family left Cologne in the 1540s, and added the van suffix at that time.  Mathijs’ children all used the patronymic “Matthyssen”, but in 1715, his grandsons decided to abandon the patronymic and begin using the “Van” name, adopting the spelling “Van Keuren”.  It is thought that the long time period between the death of Mathijs Jansen van Ceulen in 1648 and the attempt to revive the name in 1715 is likely the cause of the spelling variation. Virtually all Van Curens, Van Kurens, Van Kurins, Van Kurans, Van Curons, and Van Keurens in America are direct descendants of Mathijs van Ceulen

Matthys’s son Jan Matthysen took the patrynomic Jansen and his descendants use that name today.

Of the two sons, Matthys Matthysen was the ancestor of the Van Keuren family and Jan Matthysen the ancestor of Ulster County’s Jansen family.

After Matthys’s death,  the surname was not used by the family for 68 years.  It was revived when his grandsons through his son  Matthys Matthysen attempted to reclaim the name of nobility in 1716, they were unsure of the spelling. Van Keuren is what they ended up with.  There are several different spellings of the name, including “Keulen”, “Kuren”, and “Curen”, but all people that we have found are descended from Matthys Matthysen Van Keuren.

1. Catryntje (Katryn) Matthyssen

Catyrntje’s husband Jan Jansen Van Amesfoort was born 1630 in Amersfoort, Utrecht, Holland. Jan died 1688 in Kingston, Ulster, New York.

Thoomas Chambers sued Van Amesfoort for calling Thoomas’ wife (Van Amesfoort’s mother-in-law)  a whore, a hog, and a beast. Several times he appeared in court for physically abusing his wife and/or mother-in-law. Finally, in February of 1668, he was exiled from the colony, while still being required to pay the support of his family. Perhaps this is the first case of New York Alimony.

His children all bore the surname Van Steenberghen, probably changed as a result of said legal action. It is uncertain where the Van Steenberghen name came from, or why they began using it.

As an added note, the name of Matthys’ son-in-law “Van Steinburgh” is also a corruption. His daughter Catryn  married Jan Jansen van Amersfoort in 1660. Jan had numerous appearances in court (theft, spouse abuse, drunkenness, etc) and was exiled from the colony in 1667. In 1684, their children adopted the surname Van Steenberghen, which eventually became Van Steenbergh, Van Steenburgh, and Van Steinburgh.

2. Annetje Matthyssen (Mattesen) Jansen Van KEUREN (See PEER Jan Hendricks‘ page)

3. Jan Matthyssen Jansen

Son Jan, who preferred to use the patronymic “Jan Tyssen”, is the progenitor of the Ulster County Jansens.

Jan’s wife Magdalena Blanchan was born 7 Mar 1646 in Manheim, Baden, Germany.  Her parents were Matthys Blanchan (1600 – 1688) and Magdalena Brissen Joire or Jorisse (1611 – 1688).Magdalena died 9 Jul 1757 in New York.

Magdalena’s father Matthew was born about 1610. In his testamentary deposition in 1665, he stated that he was born in the village of Noeuville o corne in the parish Ricame in the province of Artois France.  Before 1633, Matthew moved to Armentieres, France and married about 15 Oct 1633 Magdeline Joire (1611-?).

Magdeline  Joire was born on October 27, 1611 in Armentierres, France. She may have been the daughter of Petrus Joire and Jacoba Le Blanc. Or, she may have been Magdeline Jorise, the daughter of Joris Serge. Further research needs to be undertaken to resolve her parentage.

Before 1647, the couple moved to England.  By 1651 they resided in Mannheim Germany, probably persuaded to go there by the new tax laws and provisions made to induce Huguenot merchants and manufacturers to help rebuild this territory.

On 26 Apr 1660, they arrived at New Amsterdam on the Gilded Otter listed as Mattheus Blanchand, farmer, from Artois, wife and three children 12, 9, and 5 years old. Matthew was granted a Deed of Confirmation by Governor Nicholls 18 June 1664 “for a house and lot of ground lying and being at Wiltwyck, at Esopus.” Matthew was there as early as Oct 1661 when he was levied an excise tax for wine and beer. He acquired considerable property at Esopus. Sometime prior to 25 April 1663 they went to New Dorp which was destroyed by the Esopus Indians in June of 1663. Two of his children were carried away into captivity by the Indians and were rescued months later.

4. Matthys Matthyssen

Mattys’ wife Tjatte Charity DeWitt was born in 1659 in Albany New York. Her parents were Tjerk Claessen DeWitt b. 1620 in Saterland, Netherlands and Barbara Andriessen. Tjatte died before 1724 in Kingston, Ulster, New York.  (Rescued from Indians by her future brother in law PEER Jan Hendricks (See his page for details)

Tjerck Claeszn DeWitt, son of Claes DeWitt, immigrant ancestor of the family in this country, first appears in the records of New Amsterdam in 1656, when he married , Barbara Andriessen, who came from Amsterdam, Holland. He resided in New Amsterdam until 1657, when he re- moved to Albany, and he finally located, in 1661, at Wiltwyck (now Kingston), Ulster county. New York, where he resided until he died, 17 Feb 1700. His widow, Barbara, died July 6, 1714.

In 1667, when the British sent Captain Broadhead and thirteen soldiers to take possession of Kingston, DeWitt was one of those who opposed British occupation and among the complaints made afterward by the Burghers was the following: “Captain

Broadhead has beaten Tjerick Claeszen DeWitt without reason and brought him to prison. Ye reason why Capy. Broadhead abused Tjerick DeWitt was because he would keep Christmas day on ye day according to ye Dutch and not on ye day according to ye English observation.” The remonstrance of the burghers sent to the governor against the imprisonment of Tarentson Slight, was signed among others by DeWitt. He was granted leave, April 8. 16()q. to build a house, barn and stables on land between Kingston and Hurley. He appears to have been well-to-do and brought servants with him to Kingston. Complaint was made by an Indian before the court that DeWitt had refused to pay wages due and the court appears to have taken a rather absurd snap judgment, ordering DeWitt’s banishment and fining him six hundred guilders, upon appeal, the order of banishment was rescinded and the fine remitted, and DeWitt was ordered, instead, to pay a reasonable sum for his services to the complaining Indian — about eighty cents. DeWitt was granted the right to occupy a mill site about five miles from Kingston and to erect and operate a mill there and a tract of seventy acres a mile farther distant, known as”Dead Men’s Bones,” was added for his subsistence.

Matthys should have been named Hendrick, in honor of his maternal grandmother. When his father, Mathijs, died in Oct, 1648, Matthys had not yet been born, so following a Dutch tradition, he was named for his dead father instead.

28 May 1667 – Manhattan land grant confirmed to Matthys and Jan, as rightful heirs. Confirmation was later overturned and land transferred to new owners.

2 Jul 1667 – (page 665, Court records of New Netherlandt) Land valuation and division of the patromonial estate of Mathijs Jansen van Keulen to his children. Case identifies land in the Esopus belonging to this estate, suggesting Mathijs had a land patens in the Esopus prior to his death in 1648. Matthys received: 20 Morgens of land(@@ 40 acres), previously owned by Evert PELS (our ancestor) , with house, barn and outbuildings, valued at 900 sch. Also, a horse identified as a grey stallion and a plow valued at 180 guilders. Matthys to pay his sister Anna 167 sch, 60 guilders, and 267 sch, 60 guilders to brother Jan, to equalize the shares. Notes the undivided land in the pappermemmins (Man Hats, Manhattan)

Jan 1675 – Gave up Dutch commission as Captain to accept a British rank of Sargent. By 1687, he would have the rank of Captain in the British Army

13 Aug  1680 – Grant of the court of Kingston to John and William Demeyer and Mathys Matthyssen of 6 acres of land under the falls at the Plattekill. Also the woodland, for as far as they need to cut wood for the sawmill.

2 Nov 1680 – Certificate of ownership showing that brothers, Mathys and Jan Matthyssen, are in partnership in the ownership in a mill and kiln, known as the “Plattekill”

16 Jun 1685 – Land survey for 83 Acres on the south side of the Esopus Kill and the House lot in Kingston, by Phillip Welles, surveyor. Indicates Matthys’ home was already built, although it fails to note exact location.

Sources:

http://trees.ancestry.com/owt/person.aspx?pid=134355289

http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~deadrelatives/pyag416.htm#12074

http://otal.umd.edu/~walt/gen/htmfile/3890.htm

http://www.ttinet.com/rsvk/family/vankeurenmj.html

http://www.searchforancestors.com/surnames/origin/v/vankeuren.php

http://genforum.genealogy.com/jansen/messages/260.html

http://www.colonialvoyage.com/eng/america/brazil/dutch.html

http://www.usgennet.org/usa/ny/county/orange/legends/esopuspg7.htm

http://genforum.genealogy.com/cgi-bin/pageload.cgi?Matthys::vancuren::11.html

http://www.angelfire.com/id/vancuren/home.html

Olde Ulster; an Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Volume 9 By Benjamin Myer Brink pages 305-309, October,1910

Posted in 12th Generation, Immigrant - Continent, Immigrant Coat of Arms, Line - Shaw, Place Names, Public Office, Storied, Veteran | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 21 Comments

Peer Jan Hendricks

Peer Jan HENDRICKS (1638 -1708) was Alex’s 9th Grandfather; one of 1,024 in this generation of the Shaw line.

Peer Jan Hendricks was born about 1638 in Fort Orange, New York. His parents were Hendrick ALBERTSand Geertruyd Andrissen Van DOESBURGH. He married Annetje Matthyssen Jansen Van KEUREN on 11 Mar 1667/1668 in the Kingston Dutch Reformed Church. She took the name Annetje Hendrickse.  He died on 22 Mar 1707/1708 in Kingston NY.

Annetje Matthyssen (Mattesen) Jansen Van Keuren was born in 1645 in Fort Orange, Albany, NY. Her parents were Mathijs Jansen Van KEULEN and Margaret HENDRICKS.   Annetje died 3 Feb 1722 in Kingston, NY.

Children of Matthys and Annetje:

Name Born Married Departed
1. Geertruy Peersen 12 Mar 1668/69
Kingston NY
Gerrit Tyssen
14 Oct 1696
Kingston
2. Matthys Peersen 19 May 1671
Ulster County, NY
Tanna Winne
7 Dec 1701
Kingston
21 Apr 1751
Kingston
3. Sara Jansen Peersen 1673
Kingston, NY
Myndert (Meindert) Schut
16 Nov 1694 Kingston, NY
1733
4. Hendrick Peersen 2 Jun 1675
Kingston
4. Margriet Peersen 28 Sep 1679
Kingston
Bastian De Witt
5 Mar 1703/04
Kingston
5. Jacob Peersen 25 Sep 1681
Kingston
6. Jan Peersen 2 Sep 1683
Kingston
Annetje Catryn Post
(Daughter of Jan Jansen POSTMAEL)
1701
1750
Kingston
7. Blandina PEERSON 1685 Brabant, Ulster, NY Jonas DeLANGE
15 Nov 1718
Kingston
5 Dec 1765 in Dutchess County New York.
8. Thomas Peersen 23 May 1686 in Kingston Maria De Londjue
21 Dec 1717
Kingston.

In Peer Jan Hendricks’ time, the Dutch were still practicing patronymics. This was outlawed when the British took over 1687. Each family had to declare their sirnames and then pass that on to their children.  Children of a man named Peer, would become Peersen. that is why there are so many variations of surnames. It went from Peer to Peerson, to Person to Persend to Personeus to Personius.

Peer was a Sargent in the Dutch West India Company’s troops sent to Esopus Jun 1663 under Capt. Martin Krieger in Colonel Cragier’s regiment.  He took part in the rescue of the women and children captured in the Esopus raid on Wiltwyck (Kingston), June, 1663.  Two months after the raid, the Indians were engaged at the Esopus and the captives freed, including Tjaatje and Jannetje DeWitt, and Jannaken Van Vliet.   Tjaatje Dewitt would be his future sister-in-law by later marrying Matthys Matthyssen,  Annetje’s brother and progenitor of the Van Keuren family.

An Account of the Burning of Wildwyck
7 Jun 1663 as  Translated from the Original Dutch Manuscript and published in The Documentary History of the State of New York in 1849.  A letter from the residents of Wildwyck to the governing Council of New Netherland describing the June 7th, 1663 Indian attack on the village, listing all the dead and wounded residents, and pleading for aid and assistance.

June 20,1663

The Court at Wildwyck to the Council of New Netherland:

Right Honorable, most respected, wise, prudent and very discreet Lords.

We, your Honors’ faithful subjects have to report, pursuant to the order of the Right Honorable Heer Director General, in the form of a Journal, that in obedience to his Honor’s order, received on the 30th of May last, we caused the Indian Sachems to be notified on the 5th of June, to be prepared to expect the arrival of the Right Honorable Heer Director General, to receive the promised presents, and to renew the peace. This notification was communicated to them through Capt. Thomas Chambers, to which they answered: If peace were to be renewed with them, the Honorable Heer Director General should, with some unarmed persons, sit with them in the open field, without the gate, as it was their own custom to meet unarmed when renewing peace or in other negotiations.

But they, unmindful of the preceding statement, surprised and attacked us between the hours of 11 and 12 o’clock in the forenoon on Thursday the 7th instant. Entering in bands through all the gates, they divided and scattered themselves among all the houses and dwellings in a friendly manner, having with them a little maize and some few beans to sell to our Inhabitants, by which means they kept them within their houses, and thus went from place to place as spies to discover our strength in men. And after they had been about a short quarter of an hour within this place, some people on horse back rushed through the Mill gate from the New Village, crying out: The Indians have destroyed the New Village !”

And with these words, the Indians here in this Village immediately fired a shot and made a general attack on our village from the rear, murdering our people in their houses with their axes and tomahawks, and firing on them with guns and pistols; they seized whatever women and children they could catch and carried them prisoners outside the gates, plundered the houses and set the village on fire to windward, it blowing at the time from the south. The remaining Indians commanded all the streets, firing from the corner houses which they occupied and through the curtains outside along the highways, so that some of our Inhabitants, on their way to their houses to get their arms, were wounded and slain. When the flames were at their height the wind changed to the west, were it not for which the fire would have been much more destructive.

So rapidly and silently did Murder do his work that those in different parts of the village were not aware of it until those who had been wounded happened to meet each other, in which way the most of the others also had warning. The greater portion of our men were abroad at their field labors, and but few in the village. Near the mill gate were Albert Gysbertsen with two servants, and Tjerck Claesen de Wit; at the Sheriff’s, himself with two carpenters, two clerks and one thresher; at Cornelius Barentsen Sleght’s, himself and his son; at the Domine’s, himself and two carpenters and one laboring man; at the guard house, a few soldiers; at the gate towards the river, Henderick Jochemsen and Jacob, the Brewer; but Hendrick Jochemsen was very severely wounded in his house by two shots at an early hour.

By these aforesaid men, most of whom had neither guns nor side arms, were the Indians, through God’s mercy, chased and put to flight on the alarm being given by the Sheriff. Capt. Thomas Chambers [husband of Margriet HENDRICKSEwas wounded on coming in from without, issued immediate orders (with the Sheriff and Commissaries) to secure the gates; to clear the gun and to drive out the Savages, who were still about half an hour in the village aiming at their persons, which was accordingly done. The burning of the houses, the murder and carrying off of women and children is here omitted, as these have been already communicated to your Honors on the 10th June. After these few men had been collected against the Barbarians, by degrees the others arrived who, it has been stated, were abroad at their field labors, and we found ourselves when mustered in the evening, including those from the new village who took refuge amongst us, in number 69 efficient men, both qualified and unqualified. The burnt palisades were immediately replaced by new ones, and the people distributed, during the night, along the bastions and curtains to keep watch.

On the 10th inst., 10 horseman were commanded to ride down to the Redoubt and to examine its condition. They returned with word that the soldiers at the Redoubt had not seen any Indians. They brought also with them the Sergeant, who had gone the preceding morning to the Redoubt, and as he heard on his return of the mischief committed by the Indians in the village, he went back to the Redoubt and staied there. In addition to the Sergeant they brought the men who had fled from the new village.

On the 16th, towards evening, Sergeant Christiaen Niessen went with a troop of soldiers, sent us by your Honors, being 42 men, and three wagons, to the Redoubt, with letters for the Manhatans, addressed to your Honors, and to bring up ammunition from the Redoubt. On their return, the Indians made an attempt, at the first hill, to take the ammunition from these troops. The Sergeant, having divided his men into separate bodies, evinced great courage against the Indians, skirmishing with them from the first, to past the second hill, and defending the wagons so well that they arrived in safety in the village. He had, however, one killed and six wounded. The dead man was brought in next morning, having been stripped naked, and having had his right hand cut off by the Indians. Some of the Indians were also killed, but the number of these is not known. This skirmishing having been heard in the village, a reinforcement of horse and foot was immediately ordered out, but before they arrived the Indians had been put to flight by the above named Sergeant.

This, Right Honorable Lords, is what we have deemed necessary to communicate to you in the form of a journal as to how and in what manner the Indians have acted towards us and we towards them in the preceding circumstances. And we humbly and respectfully request your Honors to be pleased to send us hither for the wounded by the earliest opportunity, some prunes and linen with some wine to strengthen them, and whatever else not obtainable here your Honors may think proper; also, carabines, cutlasses, and gun flints, and we request that the carabines may be Snaphaunce, as the peopIe here are but little conversant with the use of the arquebuse (vyer roer); also some spurs for the horsemen. In addition to this, also, some reinforcements in men inasmuch as harvest will commence in about 14 days from date. Herewith ending, we commend your Honors to God’s fatherly care and protection. Done, Wildwyck this 20th June 1663.

ROELOF SWARTWOUT, (first sheriff of Esopus and son-in-law of Albert Andriessen BRADT )
the mark of ALBERT GYSBERTSEN TIERECK CLASSEN DE WITT,
THOMAS CHAMBERS,
GYSBERT VAN IMBROCH,
CHRISTIAEN NYSSEN,
HENDRICK JOCHEMSEN

List of Soldiers and settlers Killed at the June 7th raid on Wyltwyck:

MEN:
Barent Gerretsen, murdered in front of his house
Jan Albertse, killed in his house
Lichten Dirrick, killed at the farm
Willem Jansen Seba, killed before his door
Willem Jansen Hap, in Peter van Hael’s house
Jan de Smit, in his house
Hendrik Jansen Looman, on the farm
Thomas Chambers Negro, on the farm
Hey Olferts, in the gunners house

SOLDIERS:
Hendrik Martensen, on the farm
Dominicus, in Jan Albertse’s house
Christian Andriessen, in the street

WOMEN:
Lichten Dirricks wife burnt, with her fruit lost, behind Barent Gerritsen’s house
Mattys de Capito’s wife, Killed and burnt in the house
Jan Albertsen’s wife, big with child, killed in fron of her house
Pieter van Hael’s wife, shot and burnt in her house

CHILDREN:
Jan Albertse’s daughter, murdered with her mother
William Hap’s child, burnt alive in the house

TAKEN PRISONER:
Rachel de la Montagne, Gysbert van Imbroch’s wife
Hester Douwes
Sara, daughter of Hester Douwes
Grietje, Domine Laer’s wife
Femmentje, sister of Hilletje, being recently married to Joost Ariaens
Tjaatje, daughter of Tjerck Claussen de Witt (Future Daughter-in-law of Mathijs Jansen Van KEULEN and Hendrick’s future sister-in-law)
Domine Laer’schild
Ariaen Gerritsen van Vliet’s daughter
Two little boys of Mattys Roeloffsen

Killed in New Village (Hurley)

MEN:
Marten Hammensen, found dead and stripped naked behind the wagon
Jacques Tyssen, killed beside Barent’s house
Dirrick Ariaensen, shot on his horse
Pieter Jacobsen ( Femmetje Albertse PIETERSEN Westercamp‘s son-in-law)

PRISONERS:
Jan Gerritsen at Volkerts Bouwery

Women/Children taken prisoner: (name of husband father)
Louwis Dubois 1/3
Mattheu Blanchan 0/2
Antoni Crupel 1/1
Lambert Huybertsen (BRINK) 1/3
(rescued after about 3 months including our ancestor Cornelis Lambertsen BRINK).
Marten Hammensen 1/4
Jan Joosten 1/2
Barent Harmensen 1/1
Grietje Westercamp (daughter of Femmetje Albertse PIETERSEN Westercamp).1/3
Jan Barents 1/1
Michiel Ferre 0/2
Hendrick Jochems 0/1
Hendrik Martensen 0/1
Albert Heymans Roosa 0/2

Total taken prisoner: 8 women, 26 children

Houses Burnt in Wildwyck

Of Michiel Ferre, 1
Of Hans Carolusen, 1
Of Willem Hap, 1
Of Pieter van Hael, 1
Of Mattys Roeloffsen, 1
Of Jacob boerhans, 2
Of Albert Gerretsen, 1
Of Barent Gerretsen, 2
Of Lichten Dirrick, 1
Of Mattys, 1

……… …Houses 12

The new village is entirely destroyed except a new uncovered barn, one rick and a little stack of reed.

Wounded in Wildwyck

Thomas Chambers, shot in the woods
Henderick Jochemsen, shot in his house.
Michiel Ferre, shot in front of his house (died of his wounds on the 16th June.)
Albert Gerretsen, shot in front of his house.
Andries Barents, shot in front of his house.
Jan du parck, shot in the house of Aert Pietersen Tack
Henderick the Heer Director General’s Servant In the street in front of Aert JACOBSEN (Van Wagenen)
Paulus the Noorman in the street.

On the 26th of July a party of upwards of two hundred men, including forty-one Long Island Indians and seven negroes, left Kingston to attack the Indians at their fort about thirty miles distant, “mostly” in a southwest direction.  They had as a guide a woman who had been a prisoner of the Indians, and took with them two pieces of cannon and two wagons.  The cannon and wagons they were forced to abandon before reaching the fort.  They intended to surprise the Indians, but found the fort untenanted except by a solitary squaw.

The next day they sent a force to surprise the Indians on the mountain, but were unable to surprise any.  For two days and a half the whole party then employed themselves in destroying the growing crops and old maize of the Indians, the latter of which was stored in pits.  Over two hundred acres of corn, and more than one hundred pits of corn and beans, were rendered worthless by the invading forces.  The natives witnessed these proceedings from their lookout stations on the Shawangunk and neighboring mountains, but made no resistance.  Quinlan supposes this fort to have been on the headwaters of the Kerhonkson.

After this expedition the Indians proceeded to build a new fort thirty-six miles south-southwest of Kingston.  The site of this fort is on the right bank of the Shawangunk kill, near the village of Bruynswick.  Against this fort  Capt. Kregier marched the following September, with a force of fifty-five men and an Indian guide. Kregier says in his journal, in substance:

     It having rained all day the expedition must rest for the present.  Asked the Sheriff and commissaries whether they could not get some horses to accompany us, so that we may be able to place the wounded on them if we should happen to have any.  After great trouble obtained six horses, but received spiteful and insulting words from many of the inhabitants.  One said, let those furnish horses who commenced the war.  Another said, if they want anything they will have to take it by force.  The third said he must first have his horse valued and have security for it.

About one o’clock on the afternoon of the 3d we started from Fort Wiltwyck; marched about three miles to the creek and lay there that night, during which we had great rain.  The next morning we found such high water and swift current in the kill that it was impossible to ford it. Sent men on horseback to Fort Wiltwyck for axes and rope to cross the creek.  Crossed over about two o’clock in the afternoon and marched four miles further on, where we bivouacked for the night. Set out again at we discovered two squaws and a Dutch woman who had come from their new fort that morning to get corn.  But as the creek lay between us and the corn-field, though we would fain have the women, we could not ford the stream without being discovered; we therefore turned in through the wood so as not to be seen.

About two o’clock in the afternoon we arrived in sight of their fort, which we discovered situated on a lofty plain.  Divided our force in two, and proceeded in this disposition along the kill so as not to be seen and in order to come right under the fort.  But as it was somewhat level on the left of the fort, the soldiers were seen by a squaw who was piling wood there, who thereupon set up a terrible scream. This alarmed the Indians who were working upon the fort, so we instantly fell upon them. The Indians rushed through the fort towards their houses in order to secure their arms, and thus hastily picked up a few bows and arrows and some of their guns, but we were so close at their heels they were forced to leave some of them behind. We kept up a sharp fire on them and pursued them so closely that they leaped into the creek which ran in front of the lower part of their maize land. On reaching the opposite side of the kill they courageously returned our fire, so that we were obliged to send a party across to dislodge them.

In this attack the Indians lost their chief, fourteen other warriors, four women and three children, whom we saw lying on this and on the other side of the creek; but probably many others were wounded. We also took thirteen of them prisoners, besides an old man who accompanied us about half an hour, but would go no farther. We took him aside and gave him his Last meat.  We also recovered twenty-three Christian prisoners out of their hands. A captive Indian child died on the way, so that there remained eleven of them still our prisoners.

We next reviewed our men and found we had three killed, and one more wounded than we had horses. We then held a council of war; after deliberation it was determined to let the maize stand for the present. We however plundered the houses, wherein was considerable booty, such as bear and deer skins, blankets, elk hides, besides other smaller articles, many of which we were obliged to leave behind us, for we could well have filled a sloop.  We destroyed as much as we could; broke the kettles into pieces, took also twenty four guns, more than half of which we smashed, and threw the barrels here and there in the stream.  We found also several horns and bags of powder, and thirty-one belts and some strings of wampum.  We took the best of the booty along and resolved to set off.  We placed the wounded on horses and had one carried in a blanket on poles by two soldiers in turns.  The first day we marched two miles from the fort.

The Christian prisoners informed us that they were removed every night into the woods, each night to a different place, through fear of the Dutch, and brought back in the morning; but on the day before we attacked them, a Mohawk visited them, who remained with them during the night. When about to convey the Christian captives again into the woods the Mohawk said to the Esopus Indians-” What, do you carry the Christian prisoners every night into the woods?” To which they answered “Yes.” Hereupon the Mohawk said, “Let them remain at liberty here, for you live so far in the woods that the Dutch will not come hither, for they cannot come so far without being discovered before they reach you.” So they kept the prisoners by them that night. The Mohawk departed in the morning, leaving a new blanket and two pieces of cloth, which fell to us as a booty.

Early on the morning of the 6th we resumed our journey. The same day came just beyond the Esopus kill, where we remained that night. At this place the Indian child died, which we threw into the creek. Arrived at Wiltwyck about noon of the following day.

On the 22d a detachment was sent out from Wiltwyck to guard some plowmen while they labored in the fields. About midnight the party passed along the kill where some maize lay, about two hours march from the village. On arriving there they found only a small patch of maize, as it had all been plucked by some straggling Indians or bears. Our people carried off what remained. The Indian prisoners whom we held had first informed us, to-day, that a small spot of corn had been planted there principally to supply food to stragglers who went to and fro to injure the Christians. Should they come again they’ll not find any food.

About eleven o’clock on the following night, a party was sent about three miles in a northeasterly direction from Wiltwyck, having been informed there was some Indian maize at that place, to see if they could not remove it either by land or water. They returned about two o `clock in the afternoon of the next day and reported they had been on the Indians’ maize plantation, but saw no Indians, nor anything to indicate they had been there for a long time, for the maize had not been hoed, and therefore had not come to its full growth, and had been much injured by wild animals. One plantation however was good, having been hoed by the Indians, but that was likewise much injured by wild beasts. They said it was beautiful maize land, suitable for a number of bouweries, and for the immediate reception of the plow. On Sunday afternoon, September 30th, powder and ball were distributed to the soldiers and friendly Indians, in the proportion of one pound of powder, one pound of lead and three pounds of biscuit for each man, who was to accompany an expedition into the Indian country. On Monday marched from Wiltwyck with 108 men and 46 Marseping Indians. About two o’clock of the following day we came to the fort of the Esopus Indians that we had attacked on the 5th of September, and there found five large pits into which they had cast their dead. The wolves had rooted up and devoured some of them. Lower down on the kill were four other pits full of dead Indians and we found further on the bodies of three Indians, with a squaw and a child, that lay unburied and almost wholly devoured by the ravens and the wolves. We pulled up the Indian fort and threw the palisades, one on the other, in sundry heaps and set them on fire, together with the wigwams around the fort, and thus the fort and houses were destroyed and burnt. About 10 o’clock we marched thence down along the creek where lay divers maize plantations, which we also destroyed and cast the maize into the creek. Several large wigwams also stood there, which we burnt. Having destroyed everything we returned to Wiltwyck, reaching there in the evening of the next day.

About noon of Sunday, October 7th, a girl was brought up from the Redoubt [Rondout], who, the day before, had arrived on the opposite bank at that place, and was immediately conveyed across the stream. The girl said she had escaped from an Indian who had taken her prisoner, and who resided in the mountain on the other side of the creek about three miles from Wiltwyck, where he had a hut, and a small patch of corn which he had pulled, and had been there about three weeks to remove the corn. She had tried to escape before, but could not find her way out of the woods, and was forced to return to the hut. Forty men were at once sent out to try and catch the Indian. They reached the hut before sunset, which they surrounded with the intention of surprising the savage, but the hut was found to be empty. They found a lot of corn near the hut, and another lot at the kill, part of which they burned, and a part they brought back with them. They remained in the hut during the night and watched there. On the 10th of that month, Louis Du Bois, the Walloon, went to fetch his oxen which had gone back of Juriaen Westphaelen’s land. As he was about to drive home the oxen, three Indians, who lay in the bush with the intention of taking him prisoner, leaped forth. One of the savages shot at him with an arrow, slightly wounding him, whereupon Louis struck the Indian a heavy blow on the breast with a piece of palisade, and so escaped through the kill, and brought the news to the fort. Two detachments were instantly dispatched to attack them, but they had taken to flight and retreated into the woods.

The Indians were finally cowed. Their principal warriors had been slain, their fort and wigwams burned, and their food and peltries destroyed. A long hard winter was before them, and the ruthless white soldiers ready to swoop down upon them at any moment. Under these circumstances the Delawares sued for peace, and the truce was observed for a period of about ninety years, or until the breaking out of the French and Indian war.

When Capt. Kregier marched against the new fort his forces probably crossed the Shawangunk kill at Tuthilltown, and keeping along the high ground came in rear of the fort. A portion of the command marched down the hill directly on the fort, while the other detachment cut off their escape in the other direction. This fort stood on the brow of a hill overhanging the creek; in the side of this hill there is a living spring with the Indian path still leading to it. The old Wawarsing trail led from this fort, crossing the Shawangunk mountain near Sam’s Point.

Children

1. Geertruy Peersen

Geertruy’s husband Gerrit Tyssen was born about 1668 in Amseterdam, Holland.

2. Matthys Peersen

Matthys’ wife Tanna (Tanne) Winne was born 1672 in Albany, Albany, New York.  Her parents were Adam Winne and Anna Loockermans. Her grandparents were Pieter WINNE and Tannatje Adams..  Tanna died 5 Aug 1763 in Ulster, New York

3. Sara Jansen Peersen

Sara’s husband Myndert (Meindert) Schut was born 1669 in Marbletown, Ulster, New York. His parents were William Jansen Schutt and Gritie Jacobs. Myndert died 1744 in Saugerties, Ulster, New York.

4. Margriet Peersen

Margriet’s husband Bastian De Witt was born 1682 in Long Island, New York. His parents were Jacob Bastiaansz De Wit and Barbar Gybertz. Bastian died in Ulster, New York.

6. Jan Peersen

Jan Peersen was baptism #322 in the Kingston Reformed Dutch Church recorded in Hoes on page 19. He was sponsored by his mother’s brother, Jan Matthyssen, progenitor of the Ulster County Jansen family. In the baptismal record, his parents’ names are given as “Jan Hendricz and Annetje Matysz”.

Jan’s wife Annetje Catryn Post was born 6 Apr 1684 in Kingston, New York. Her parents were Jan Jansen POSTMAEL  and Jannetje LOZIER.  Annetje died in 1707.

7. Blandina PEERSON (See Jonas DeLANGE‘s page)

8. Thomas Peersen

Thomas’ wife Maria De Londjue was born about 1690 in Ulster New York,

Sources:

http://otal.umd.edu/~walt/gen/htmfile/1944.htm

http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~deadrelatives/pyag277.htm

http://trees.ancestry.com/tree/7103948/person/145498463

http://trees.ancestry.com/owt/person.aspx?pid=42436242

http://www.jwwerner.com/history/BURNINGACCOUNT.html

http://www.usgennet.org/usa/ny/county/orange/legends/2esopus.htm

Posted in 11th Generation, Line - Shaw, Veteran | Tagged , , , | 13 Comments