Thomas HARVEY (1617 – 1651) was Alex’s 11th Great Grandfather; one of 4,096 in this generation of the Miner line.
Thomas Harvey was born in 1617 in Ashill, Somerstshire, England. His parents were Thomas HARVEY Sr. and Joan COLLIER. He married Elizabeth ANDREWS. in 1642 in Taunton, Mass. Thomas died in 1651 in Taunton Mass., aged only thirty-four years.
Elizabeth Andrews was born in 1614 in Stoneham, Southampton, Hampshire, England. Her parents were Henry ANDREWS and Elizabeth BOND. Elizabeth’s father emigrated to Dorchester, Mass in 1636, but returned to England and died in 1638 in Ashill, Somerset, England. Alternatively, Elizabeth emigrated with her brother Henry Jr. After Thomas died, she married (second) Francis Street, of Taunton, to whom she bore one daughter. She married (third) Thomas Lincoln, the miller, of Taunton on 10 Dec 1665. Lincoln died in 1683, and his widow in 1717, aged one hundred and three years.
Francis Street was born in 1612 in England. Francis died in 1665 in Taunton, Bristol, Mass.
Thomas Lincoln was born 28 Dec 1600 in Swanton, Morley, Norfolk, England. His parents were Thomas Lincoln (1576 – 1675) and Bridget Gilman (1582 – 1665). Thomas died 28 Sep 1691 in Taunton, Bristol, Mass.
Children of Thomas and Elizabeth:
|1.||Thomas Harvey||1643 Taunton Mass.||Experience Harvey
(Thomas’ first cousin)
|1726 in Taunton Mass|
|2.||William Harvey||1645 in Taunton Mass..||[__?__]||1726|
|3.||John HARVEY||1647 in Taunton, Bristol, Mass.||Elizabeth WILLEY
1675 in Taunton, Bristol, Mass
|18 Jan 1705 Lyme, New London, Connecticut.|
Thomas arrived from England with brother William about 1636 and settled at Dorchester, MA. In 1638 he moved to Chasset, Mass. and from there to Cohannet (Taunton), about 1640 where he and his brother was among the first settlers. He deposed 8 Nov 1638, that he was aged twenty-one years, and between 1639 and 1642 he became a proprietor of Taunton. His name was on a list of those able to bear arms in 1643.
Thomas Harvey was not one of the “first and ancient purchasers” of Cohannet, as his brother William was, in part because he was under age 21 at the time. But between 1639 and 1642 he and 13 others were admitted as “proprietors” of Taunton upon the payment of 12 shillings each. It was voted that these “12-shilling men” would have a right in future divisions of land.
In 1643, by order of the General Court, a list of “all the males able to beare Armes from 16 yeares old to 60 yeares,” was made. Taunton’s list contained 54 names, only one of the them being a Harvey — Thomas Harvey. (Brother William was living in Boston at the time).
Thomas Harvey appears on the list “able to bear arms from sixteen to sixty years” in 1643; was a sergeant in the army 1673; constable 1678; surveyor of highways 1681; Thomas Harvey and Thomas Harvey, jr., admitted as freemen in 1689.
Also among the purchasers of an important addition to the town in 1668 called the North Purchase, now including Norton, Easton and Mansfield, were Thomas Harvey, the elder, Thomas Harvey, jr, and his brother William Harvey.
Taunton was established March 3, 1639, from common land called Cohannett. The majority of the early settlers came from Dorchester in the Massachusetts Bay Colony. By 1640 the 46 original purchasers had adopted the name Taunton. The town expanded with the North and South Purchases, and eventually contracted as daughter towns became independent.
Perhaps the earliest industry here was the smelting of bog iron, which began in the mid-seventeenth century. Among the notable products of the town’s iron industry were anchors for ships including the U.S.S. Constitution. Metalworking has long been a major area of industry here, including iron products from shovels to locomotives, and silversmithing has at times been especially prominent.
The town’s locaion, at the head of navigable waters on the Taunton River, made it an inland seaport. That made possible local industries such as shipbuilding, shipping and coastal trade, and fishing. Water power from the river drove the growth of factories, including textile mills. Clays found in the area spawned brick and stoneware industries.
Taunton played a prominent role in King Philip’s War, and has distinguished itself in all American wars from the Revolution to this time. In 1774 the Liberty and Union Flag, which some regard as the first American flag, was raised on the Green in defiance of the English crown, and still flies in many places in the city today.
The town became the seat of Bristol County in 1746, and became a city in 1864. It has the largest land area of any city in the Commonwealth. It has grown from a population of 3,804 in the 1790 census to 55,976 in 2000.
1. Thomas Harvey Jr.
Thomas Jr. was a restaurant owner. He owned one of the first recorded “ordinary” or eating house in Taunton, Mass. He married, in 1668, Experience, daughter of William Harvey (2), his uncle. Her brother Thomas married Elizabeth, daughter of Deacon John Willis, of Bridgewater. Thomas was an original owner of lot 77 in Taunton South Purchase;
Thomas was Sergeant in the Taunton Military Company. In 1673, raised to march against the Dutch in New York and New Jersey; was grantee in the Bradford deed of Taunton in 1689. He was impressed for service in King William’s war. He deeded to his son Ebenezer the homestead of four hundred acres, adjoining the farms of his sons Thomas and Ebenezer, on the highway leading to Brown’s Brook, in consideration of love, etc., and with the obligation to care for his sisters Experience and Mary, as well as his parents, while they lived. Thomas died in 1726; his wife in 1720.
2. William Harvey
William was impressed as a soldier in British Army on 25 July 1697.
Genealogical and family history of the state of Maine, Volume 4 By Henry Sweetser Burrage, Albert Roscoe Stubbs